Home Sport GAA St Joseph’s maintain 100% start and end Graiguecullen’s

St Joseph’s maintain 100% start and end Graiguecullen’s

Laois GAA are hoping to form a Fr Manning Cup team
Graiguecullen and St Joseph's win in the U-21 FC

St Joseph’s 0-12 Graiguecullen 0-9

ACFL Division 1

These two came into this game with the only remaining 100% records in the competition – so something simply had to give.

In the end, it was St Joseph’s who emerged from Fr Maher Park with a three point wind in what was a game of high quality.

18 of the 21 scores came from play with St Joseph’s getting the last two of them to make it four wins on the trot for the Kellyville outfit and inflict a first competitive defeat upon Pádraig Clancy as Graiguecullen manager.

It was Graiguecullen who actually enjoyed the better of the opening exchanges with Ambrose Doran shrugging off the disappointment of relegation with the Laois seniors last weekend to kick four points.

St Joseph’s kept in it with points from Jason Campion and Michael Keogh but Graiguecullen kicked two more before the break via Danny O’Reilly and James Doogue to take a 0-6 to 0-5 lead at half time.

But the home side could only manage three more points in the second half with Wayne Humphries, Ross Hennessy and Chris Hurley raising white flags but that wasn’t enough.

St Joseph’s reeled them in through Dan Dunne, Matty Campion and Michael Keogh before Jason Campion struck with the last two points to win it.

Graiguecullen will look to return to winning ways next Saturday when they travel to Killenard to take on third placed O’Dempsey’s while St Joseph’s will hope to make it five straight wins when they travel to take on Portlaoise.

SCORERS – St Joseph’s: Michael Keogh and Jason Campion 0-3 each, Matty Campion 0-2, James Smith, Cathal Fleming, James Kelly and Dan Dunne 0-1 each Graiguecullen: Ambrose Doran 0-4, James Doogue, Danny O’Reilly, Wayne Humphries, Ross Hennessy and Chris Hurley 0-1 each

ST JOSEPH’S: Aaron Cooney; Cian Maher, Tom Dunne, Donal Ramsbottom; James Kelly, Aidan Brennan, Martin Doyle; James Smith, Cathal Fleming; Danny Hickey, Michael Keogh, Liam Kealy; Ian Dunne, Matty Campion, Jason Campion. Subs: Dan Dunne for Kealy, Adam Campion for Maher, Brendan Hickey for M. Campion, Paddy Hickey for Keogh, Willy McDonald for Condron

GRAIGUECULLEN: Danny Bolger; Bobby Doyle, Trevor Collins, Seán Farrell; Wayne Humphries, Liam Kearney, Martin Doyle; Shane O’Neill, Jamie Sheehan; Ross Hennessy, Ian Fleming, Danny O’Reilly; Lee Timmons, Aaron Forbes, Ambrose Doran. Subs: Chris Hurley for Timmons, Barry Regan for Doran, Jamie Sheehan for Doyle

Referee: Eddie Kinsella (Courtwood)

Previous articleGoals key as Portlaoise see off Arles-Killeen
Next articleAll of this week’s Laois GAA results
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.