Home Sport Rugby Former Portlaoise RFC player named in Ireland U20 World Cup squad

Former Portlaoise RFC player named in Ireland U20 World Cup squad

Sean Masterson, pictured with his dad and older brother Eoghan, who has been named in the Ireland squad
Sean Masterson, pictured with his dad and older brother Eoghan, who has been named in the Ireland squad

Former Portlaoise rugby player Seán Masterson has been named in the Ireland U20 squad for this summer’s world cup.

The forward, who previously played GAA with Park-Ratheniska, has had a remarkable year to date.

Along with playing for the province, he captained the Ireland U-19 team who enjoyed a very successful tour in Japan in March

Masterson was also called up to the Ireland U-20 squad during the Six Nations where he made an appearance off the bench against France in a 27-22 victory.

And just a few weeks ago, he was named the Connacht U-19 player of the year. He will now travel with the Ireland squad to Georgia.

Ireland begin their campaign against Italy on 31 May before facing Scotland on 4 June and finishing their Group B campaign against New Zealand four days later.

Peter Malone’s side play their group games in Kutaisi with the knock-out stages taking place in Tbilisi.

Malone said: “It’s an exciting time for these players, as they will all be experiencing a World Championship for the first time.

“It’s a great opportunity for them, to go out and pit themselves against their peers from around the world.

“We’ve lost a number of players who were involved during the Six Nations through injury, so it’s very unlucky for those guys not to be involved, but it gives other players the chance to wear the green jersey on the world stage.

“We’re in a really strong pool with Italy and Scotland who made us work really hard for wins during the Six Nations, and then New Zealand who will have a number of players back from last year’s tournament so they will be a huge test for us.”

Ireland U20 squad:


Paul Boyle (Lansdowne FC/Leinster) Captain
Charlie Connolly (Dublin University FC/Leinster)
Joey Conway (UL Bohemians RFC/Munster)
Gavin Coombes (Young Munster RFC/Munster)
Peter Cooper (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster)
Oisin Dowling (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
Jordan Duggan (Naas RFC/Leinster)
John Foley (Shannon RFC/Munster)
Ronan Kelleher (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Sean Masterson (Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
Tadgh McElroy (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
Greg McGrath (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
Marcus Rea (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
Jack Regan (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Fineen Wycherley (Young Munster RFC/Munster)


Angus Curtis (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
Conor Dean (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Ciaran Frawley (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Colm Hogan (Dublin University FC/Munster)
Jack Kelly (Dublin University FC/Leinster)
David McCarthy (Garryowen FC/Munster)
Gavin Mullin (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Calvin Nash (Young Munster/Munster)
Jack Stafford (Shannon RFC/Munster)
Jonathan Stewart (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
Michael Silvester (Dublin University FC/Leinster)
Alan Tynan (Young Munster/Munster)

READ ALSO – Former Portlaoise Rugby star named Connacht U-19 player of the year

Previous articleThere really are some classics in the Laois GAA club player nicknames
Next articleGAA suspension anomalies raised as Rosenallis speak out following recent U-16 controversy
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.