Home Hurling Cumann na mBunscol Killanure pack too much power for Knock

Killanure pack too much power for Knock

Killanure 9-15 Knock 4-11

Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Roinn 4 Hurling

We didn’t need any reminder that they’re well able to hurl in Camross but the Killanure boys underlined their hurling pedigree with a seriously impressive win.

With a team packed with quality and serious hurling genes, they put on a fine display in the glorious sunshine in O’Moore Park. It also made up for the disappointment of their camogie team losing their final just an hour earlier.

Knock can hold their heads high in defeat however. Scoring 4-11 is no mean achievement and would win most games – indeed Conor Fitzpatrick and Liam Kehoe put in powerful performances.

James Cuddy got the scoring underway for Killanure when he pointed a long-range free and although Conor Fitzpatrick hit back with two points to put Knock into the lead, Killanure struck back in style.

James Cuddy levelled things up with a free and Kevin Byrne then got 2-1 in three minutes to put Killanure into lead they wouldn’t relinquish.

Ciaran Keenan then got in on the scoring act and he had 2-2 to his name by the break and with Byrne adding a third goal, Killanure led 5-7 to 1-6 at half time. All of Knock’s scores under the opening half came from captain Conor Fitzpatrick.

Liam Kehoe thundered into the game in the second half for Knock, scoring three great goals, but Killanure always had enough to spare and further goals from Byrne and Keenan as well as points from James Cuddy, Tom Cuddy and Ben Deegan ensured the win.

SCORERS – Killanure: Kevin Byrne 5-4, Ciaran Keenan 4-3, James Cuddy 0-5, Tom Cuddy 0-2, Ben Deegan 0-1. Knock: Conor Fitzpatrick 1-9, Liam Kehoe 3-1, Collum Costigan 0-1

KILLANURE: Colm Conroy, Ben Deegan, Tom Cuddy, James Cuddy, Ciaran Keenan, Kevin Byrne, Ashton Keenan. Subs: Luke Wallis, Conor Deegan, Brian Hogan, Stephen Conroy

KNOCK: Michael Fleming, Ian Dalton, Cahir Costigan, Liam Kehoe, Conor Fitzpatrick, Darragh Cahill, Bill McGrath. Subs: Carlos Fitzpatrick, Jamie Gorman, Eric Smith, Collum Costigan, Martin Orr, Eoin Lynam, Eoin Carter, Aron Tynan.

SEE ALSO – Rosenallis girls go goal crazy to see off Killanure