Home We Are Laois Remember the Game Remember the Game: 2000 Feile football win for Graiguecullen

Remember the Game: 2000 Feile football win for Graiguecullen

Graiguecullen who beat St Joseph's in the Feile football final 2000

Graiguecullen 1-7 St Joseph’s 0-5

2000 Feile Football Final

Graiguecullen captured the first Laois Feile football title of the 21st century following a five point win over St Joseph’s 17 years ago.

The Barrowsiders had been edged out in the previous two U-12 finals by Stradbally so, when they finally got the better of them in the semi final of this competition after extra time, they went into this final as firm favourites.

The game, which was played in Ratheniska, saw Graiguecullen race into a three point lead within the first ten minutes thanks to Chris Hurley, John Tierney and Ian Fleming.

With their very first attack, St Joseph’s were awarded a penalty but it was missed and Graiguecullen added two more points via Fleming and Rory Hurley to move five clear.

Mark Delaney finally raised a white flag for St Joseph’s but that would prove to be their only score as Graiguecullen took a 0-5 to 0-1 lead into the half time break.

St Joseph’s made a great start to the second half as Michael Byrne kicked their second point but any hopes of a comeback faded five minutes later.

Centre forward Ian Fleming soloed half way up the pitch before unleashing a thunderbolt into the top corner for the game’s only goal.

Dave Hurley added a brace of points and all of a sudden Graiguecullen led by eight points with less than a quarter of the game to go.

To their credit, St Joseph’s didn’t give up and they kicked the final three points of the half via Mark Delaney, Stephen Delaney and Billy Campion.

But it wasn’t enough and Graiguecullen went on to lift the trophy.

SCORERS – Graiguecullen: Ian Fleming 1-2, Rory Hurley 1-1, Dave Hurley 0-2, John Tierney and Chris Hurley 0-1 each St. Joseph’s: Mark Delaney 0-2, Stephen Delaney, Billy Campion and Michael Byrne 0-1 each

GRAIGUECULLEN: Shane O’Neill; Niall O’Rourke, Mark Timmons, Denis Byrne; Jason McGrath, Fionn O’Rourke, Leon Deere; Rory Hurley, Denis Nolan; Dave Hurley, Ian Fleming, John Tierney; Barry O’Sullivan, Barry Murphy, Chris Hurley. Subs: Jason Kelly for D. Hurley

ST JOSEPH’S: Ray Kealy; Adrian Brophy, Ian Donnelly, Enda Butler; Declan Brennan, Pat Fleming, Stephen Delaney; David Lynsky, Richard Keogh; Niall Moore, Brian Brennan, Billy Campion; Pat Hickey, Mark Delaney, Michael Byrne. Subs: Jack Dempsey for Hickey

READ ALSO – Remember the Game: 2000 Leinster Minor ‘B’ camogie win for Laois

Previous articleColm Fingleton: Joshua Tree is 30 years old but U2 still do a really good show
Next articlePeter Francis: Why Ireland must say No, Nay, Never to a capitalist education system
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.