Home Sport GAA Lalor on form as Trumera get the better of Park-Ratheniska

Lalor on form as Trumera get the better of Park-Ratheniska

Some very exciting hurling fixtures confirmed
Trumera 0-12 Park-Ratheniska 0-10

Laois Shopping Centre IHC Round 1

Trumera were relegated from the second tier SHC ‘A’ grade last year but they got their championship campaign off to a winning start by getting the better of Park-Ratheniska in a tough battle in Mountrath this evening.

There was little between the sides throughout but Trumera always just about had their noses in front. Having said that Park-Ratheniska will rue a couple of good second-half goal chances and Trumera can be thankful to veteran keeper Ronan Kavanagh for pulling off two good saves at a crucial stage.

Trumera led 0-5 to 0-4 at the break with Dylan Lalor, Joey Coogan and Cathal Brophy accounting for their scores. Two each from Conor Brennan and John Holohan had Park just on their coat-tails.

Lalor and Coogan pointed early in the second half to give Trumera a small bit of breathing space but they could never quite get out of sight even after Benny Greene got his marching orders with a straight red card.

A couple of fine points from Holohan and wonderful efforts from Jimmy Langton and Conor Brennan kept Park in touch. Dylan and Damien Lalor kept Trumera out in front and although corner-back Paddy Kelly came up the field to score arguably the point of the game from way out on the left wing, a late Lalor point was enough to get Trumera over the finish line.

Trumera will now go into Round 2 winners section while Park are in the last-chance saloon and will need to re-launch their championship bid through the back door.

SCORERS – Trumera: Dylan Lalor 0-8 (four frees), Joey Coogan, Cathal Brophy and Damien Lalor 0-1 each. Park-Ratheniska: John Holohan 0-5 (three frees), Conor Brennan 0-3, Paddy Kelly 0-1, Jimmy Langton 0-1

TRUMERA: Ronan Kavanagh; Paddy Coogan, Jimmy Kirwan, John O’Connor; Donnacha Dowling, Paddy Callaghan, Paul McSpadden; Cathal Brophy, Niall Sinnott; Dylan Lalor, Conor Mason, Joey Coogan; Rhys Murphy, Shay Murphy, Damien Lalor. Sub: Eddie O’Connor for R Murphy, Caolan Murphy for Kirwan

PARK-RATHENISKA: Benny Dowling; Mark Delaney, Gavin Tynan, Paddy Kelly; Martin Kelly, Mark Delaney, Benny Greene; Jimmy Langton, Michael Brennan; Barry Fingleton, John Holohan, Oisin Nolan; Brendan Conroy, Kieran Delaney, Conor Brennan. Subs: Brian Flanagan for Nolan, Denis Brennan for K Delaney, Eamonn Cooke for Langton (injured)

SEE ALSO – Rosenallis get the better of The Harps in SHC ‘A’ thriller