Home GAA Camogie Classy Cullohill claim camogie crown once more

Classy Cullohill claim camogie crown once more

The Cullohill girls team that claimed Roinn 1 camogie honours in O'Moore Park

Cullohill 8-4 Castletown 0-1

Roinn 1 Camogie Final

Cullohill continued their strong Cumann na mBunscol tradition as their camogie team got the better of Castletown in the Roinn 1 decider in O’Moore Park this afternoon.

Two early goals from the lively Aoife Kirby set them on their way while a long-range free from Lisa Kirby and a powerful finish from Rachel Dollard accounted for their four first-half goals.

Lisa Kirby also hit a great point from way out on the right wing into the Town End goals while Catherine Kirby also got in on the scoring act. At half-time Cullohill led 4-2 to 0-0.

Castletown, who had former Laois great Paul Cuddy among their management team, battled on bravely in the second half with the likes of Shannon Conroy and Caoimhe Cuddy impressive.

But they could find no way past the brilliant Mia Henderson in the Cullohill goals – who pulled off three quality saves in quick succession.

Lisa Kirby added to her tally in the second half with 1-1 while Rachel Dollard got in for her second goal. Caoimhe Cuddy pointed a free for Castletown in response and added a goal late on but it wasn’t enough to deny an impressive Cullohill outfit with Dollard adding two more goals before the final whistle and sub Eadaoin Whyte chipping in with a point.

The Castletown camogie team that were defeated by Cullohill in the Roinn 1 final

SCORERS – Cullohill: Rachel Dollard 4-0, Lisa Kirby 2-3, Aoife Kirby 2-0, Eadaoin Whyte 0-1. Castletown: Caoimhe Cuddy 1-1

CULLOHILL: Mia Henderson; Kayla Dwyer, Eva Dunphy, Orla Holland; Caoimhe Delaney, Lisa Kirby; Catherine Kirby, Rachel Dollard, Aoife Kirby. Subs: Aine Delaney, Georgie Hollan, Eadaoin Whyte, Orla Brophy, Kara Fogarty, Aimee Lennon, Ava Henderson, Isabel Delaney, Niamh Kelly

CASTLETOWN: Sarah Dunne; Gabrielle Cuddy, Shannon Conroy, Aimee Byrne; Molly Kerry, Emma Jane Cuddy; Caoimhe Cuddy, Aoife Cuddy, Sarah Phelan. Subs: Doireann O’Connor, Meibh Peters, Ella Sheridan, Cameron Doyle, Meadhbh Doyle, Annaliz Cash

SEE ALSO – Check out all of today’s results from the Laois Cumann na mBunscol hurling and camogie finals