Home GAA Ladies Football Laois Ladies league fixtures announced for 2019

Laois Ladies league fixtures announced for 2019

Eva Galvin during the TG4 Leinster Intermediate Championship Final match between Laois and Wicklow at Netwatch Cullen Park, Carlow. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

The national division two league fixtures for ladies football have been announced.

Laois’s campaign begins at home against Armagh on Sunday, February 3.

This will be the first competitive match for incoming manager David Gibson.

The Kildare man has been involved in training both men’s and women’s teams in Dublin and Meath, and was most recently involved in Dunshaughlin ladies team in Meath.

Dunning’s Laois side then face Tyrone, Cavan, Clare and Waterford away while matches against Kerry and Wexford will be played within Laois.

Games may change to the Saturday/Sunday if the opportunity arises to play a double header with the GAA.

If there is any clash between camogie and LGFA matches in rounds 1 and 3 for a county with dual players, then Ladies Football will move to the Saturday where possible.

Playoffs and relegations will be played on either Saturday 13 or Sunday 14 April.

League semi-finals will be held on either Saturday 20 or Sunday 21 April while the final is down for Sunday, May 5.

In the intermediate championship, Laois face a tough test against Meath in the first weekend of June. Exact date is yet to be fixed.

Division 2 League fixtures

Sunday February 3
Laois (H) v Armagh

Sunday February 10
Tyrone v Laois (A)

Sunday February 24
Laois (H) v Kerry

Sunday March 3
Clare v Laois (A)

Sunday March 17
Laois (H) v Wexford

Sunday March 24
Waterford v Laois (A)

Saturday 6/Sunday 7 April 
Cavan v Laois (A)

SEE ALSO – Laois LGFA name their U16 squad for 2019