Home Sport GAA Knockbeg claim Laois First Year School’s title following win over Portlaoise CBS

Knockbeg claim Laois First Year School’s title following win over Portlaoise CBS

Knockbeg College 4-6 Portlaoise CBS 2-6
First Year School’s Football Final

Knockbeg College claimed the First Year School’s football title in O’Moore Park on Sunday following a six point win.

This game, which took place before the meeting of Carlow and Laois, was a dramatic affair that certainly set the scene for the events that would follow in Portlaoise.

The CBS amazingly struck the crossbar a total of six times over the course of the two twenty minute halves as the Chris Conway managed side prevailed.

Both sides had massive panels with all of the players who were present seeing some game time in what was a very entertaining affair.

Knockbeg began the scoring with a Josh Brady point and although Tommy Dwane and Jake Darcy replied for the CBS, Knockbeg would take a lead into the interval.

St Joseph’s full forward Mike Murphy scored a great goal and also kicked a point before Stradbally’s Ronan Creery and Eire Og’s Josh Brady did likewise to move Knockbeg 1-6 to 0-2 ahead by the break.

Portlaoise CBS were desperately unlucky not to be closer to their opponents at half time as James Devoy saw his shot following a fine run comeback off the post while Sean Kirby forced a great save out of Crettyard keeper Sean Browne.

However, Killian Fitzpatrick’s men did make a better start to the second half as a goal from Sean Kirby and a long range score from Cian Cleary cut the gap to three points.

But with the CBS continuing to find the crossbar in their way, Knockbeg made them pay down the other end.

Josh Brady converted a penalty after Bobby Doyle was fouled and the duo combined again for Knockbeg’s third goal a moment later with Doyle scoring this time.

Substitute Daniel Wall’s goal put twelve points between the team with less than five minutes to play but in fairness to the CBS, they kept going right to the end.

James Devoy, Dylan Roche Duff and Sean Kirby all pointed while substitute John McNamara scored a late goal but time ran out and Knockbeg were crowned champions.

Portlaoise CBS 1st Year team

SCORERS – KNOCKBEG COLLEGE: Mike Murphy and Josh Brady 1-2 each, Bobby Doyle and Daniel Wall 1-0 each, Pierce O’Dwyer and Ronan Creery 0-1 each PORTLAOISE CBS: Sean Kirby 1-1, John McNamara 1-0, Tommy Dwane, Jake Darcy, Cian Cleary, James Devoy and Dylan Roche-Duff 0-1 each

KNOCKBEG COLLEGE: Sean Browne (Crettyard); Adam Hennessy (Stradbally), Brian Broderick (Palatine, Carlow), Ray Glynn (St Laurences, Kildare); Jamie Walker (O’Hanrahan’s, Carlow), Eoin Brennan (Ballylinan), Kevin Fennelly (Annanough); Oran Kirwan (Grange, Kildare), Darragh Loughman (Ballylinan); Ronan Creery (Stradbally), Josh Brady (Eire Og, Carlow), Tommy Hutton (Killeshin); Bobby Doyle (Tinryland, Carlow), Mike Murphy (St Joseph’s), Pierce O’Dwyer (St Laurences, Kildare). Subs: Brian Cox (Michael Davitts, Carlow), Eoin Cawley (Killeshin), John Phiri (Askea), Daniel Wall (Grange, Kildare), Cialann Brady (Eire Og, Carlow), Mackenzie McIvor (Ballylinan), Jack Brennan (Killeshin), Cian Cashman (Palatine, Carlow), Daniel Brennan (Eire Og), Diarmuid Downey (Ballylinan), Blaine Corcoran (Stradbally)

PORTLAOISE CBS: Kacper Banasik (Portlaoise); Ben Dillon (Stradbally), Adam Glynn (Portlaoise), Evan Bergin (Portlaoise); Paddy Reddin (Portlaoise), Cian Cleary (Portlaoise), Conor Ging (Portlaoise); Conor Raggett (Portlaoise), James Devoy (Stradbally); David Costello (Emo), PJ Larkin (The Heath), Jake Darcy (Annanough); David Miller (Annanough), Sean Kirby (The Heath), Jack Keyes (The Heath). Subs: Tommy Dwane (Portlaoise), Dylan Roche Duff (Park-Ratheniska), Sean Corcoran (Ballyfin), John McNamara (The Heath), David Madu

Referee: Des Cooney (St Joseph’s)

Knockbeg College First Year team

SEE ALSO – Tributes paid to legendary Laois hurler following sad passing