Home Sport GAA Connolly goal key as Mountmellick hurlers book intermediate semi-final place

Connolly goal key as Mountmellick hurlers book intermediate semi-final place

Ballinakill hurlers have a new manager

Mountmellick 4-10 Trumera 2-12
Laois Shopping Centre IHC Quarter-final replay

The Mountmellick hurlers have continued their great championship run as they booked a place in the intermediate championship semi-final against Borris-Kilcotton on the weekend after next.

Having won the Junior ‘B’ title in 2017 and the Junior ‘A’ in 2018, Mountmellick are now just one win away from the intermediate final follow a replay win over Trumera in the Laois GAA LOETB Centre of Excellence this evening.

The sides drew a thrilling game last week when a late Jmes Hilliard free sent it to a replay and he hit another 2-5 this evening as Mountmellick overturned a two-point deficit in the first half to win by four in the end.

The win not only sends them through to the last four – but they’ll also represent Laois in the Leinster club intermediate championship as the remaining sides cannot compete in the provincial competitions as they are second teams of senior clubs.

Camross will meet Clough-Ballacolla in the other semi-final.

Shane Murphy got an early goal for Trumera and Conor Madden was on form from the free as Trumera led 1-8 to 2-3 at half-time, Mountmellick’s goals coming from Hilliard and Donnacha Hartnett.

Hilliard struck a screamer of a goal early in the second half and though Trumera hit back with a strike from Eddie O’Connor, John Connolly got the crucial goal for Mountmellick as they pulled through.

SCORERS – Mountmellick: James Hilliard 2-3, Donnacha Hartnett 1-4,  John Connolly 1-0, Redmond McEvoy 0-1, Karl Donoher 0-1, Barry Mangan 0-1. Trumera: Conor Madden 0-6, Eddie O’Connor 1-2, Shane Murphy 1-0, Cathal Brophy 0-1, Dylan Lalor 0-1, Joe Coogan 0-1, Niall Sinnott 0-1

MOUNTMELLICK: Cathal Flynn; David Fennelly, Peter Dunne, Eddie Melia; Bernard Rochford, Ian Fennelly, Mick Bermingham; Barry Mangan, Sean O’Neill; Karl Donoher, James Hilliard, John Connolly; Redmond McEvoy, Nigel Murphy, Donnacha Hartnett. Subs: Seamus Stapleton for Murphy

TRUMERA: Ronan Kavanagh; Paul McSpadden, John O’Connor, Conor Mason; Donnacha Dowling, Paddy O’Callaghan, Gearoid O’Neill; Cathal Brophy, Niall Sinnott; Joe Coogan, Dylan Lalor, Conor Madden; Shane Murphy, Eddie O’Connor, Rhys Murphy. Sub: Dan O’Connor for R Murphy

REFEREE: Padraig Dunne (Colt)

SEE ALSO – Mountrath see off Camross to claim Junior ‘B’ hurling title