Home Sport GAA Second-half class secures Junior ‘B’ hurling crown for Mountrath

Second-half class secures Junior ‘B’ hurling crown for Mountrath

Camross 0-12 Mountrath 0-19
Laois Shopping Centre JHC ‘B’ Final

Mountrath are the 2019 Laois Shopping Centre Junior ‘B’ champions after a well-earned victory in O’Moore Park this evening over their close neighbours and rivals Camross.

The result completes a league and championship double for Mountrath as their second-half scoring spree saw them take home silverware, move up to the Junior ‘A’ ranks for 2020 and overturn the loss to Camross in the opening round of this competition.

For Camross this defeat marks their third final loss in a row in this grade as they were beaten by Mountmellick in 2017 and Kyle 12 months ago.

Mountrath began the game on top and Luke Cusack fired over the game’s first score with a superb score before Killian Kirwan then fired over another from play.

Daniel Delaney got Camross’ first score from a free after seven minutes as they began to get going in the game.

Brandon Russell was superb from placed balls throughout the game and he fired over two in a row to give his side a three-point lead.

James O’Keefe replied with a fine score from play. Michael Meade and Daniel Delaney traded scores as the game began to find it’s feet.

Russell fired over another two frees before Robert Delaney and Niall Bennett replied for Camross.

Luke Cusack then produced a moment of brilliance as he skillfully fired over a sideline cut.

Daniel Delaney and Russell traded placed balls before Daniel Delaney fired over another two frees to leave his side down by one at the break.

Joseph Ryan got Camross going in the second-half after a good run. Two points from Meade and yet another Russell free gave Mountrath a three-point advantage.

Russell having been 100% from frees was given the task of taking a penalty after Peter Rice was fouled. Russell’s penalty lacked any conviction and was well saved by Niall Cuddy.

Daniel Delaney fired over another free, but Mountrath tacked on another two scores with Cormac O’Keefe scoring from his own 65′ and Russell tapping over another free.

Russell with yet another free with Robert Delaney replying from play. O’Keefe scored yet superb score before Russell slotted over another two frees.

James Doran and Russell (free) ended the game’s scoring and made Mountrtath deserved Junior ‘B’ champions.

SCORERS – Camross: Daniel Delaney 0-6 (five frees) Robert Delanry 0-2, Niall Bennett, James O’Keefe, Joseph Ryan, James Doran (free) 0-1 each Mountrath: Brandon Russell 0-11 (all frees), Micheal Meade 0-3, Luke Cusack and Cormac O’Keefe 0-2 each, Killian Kirwan 0-1

CAMROSS: Niall Cuddy; Conor Doran, Mark Conroy, Martin Moore; Alan Bergin, James Doran, Cian Delaney; Patrick Burke, Joseph Ryan; James O’Keefe, Niall Bennett, Daniel Delaney; Robert Delaney, Oliver Dowling, Cillian Tiernan. Subs: Gavin Delaney for Bergin (14), Thomas Palmer for Dowling (36), Dean Dowling for Moore (39), Garreth Cuddy for Ryan (60)

MOUNTRATH: Brian Russell; Kevin Murphy, Sean Maguire, Kevin Bryne; Dermot Murphy, Bill Sheeran, Cormac O’Keefe; Luke Cusack, Mick Boyhan; Killian Kirwan, Michael Meade, Brandon Russell; Colm Bergin, Andy Russell, Cathal Carroll. Subs: Damien Lanham for Carroll (43)

Referee: Anthony Costigan (Rathdowney-Errill)

SEE ALSO – Electric Picnic organiser explains Salty Dog change, possibly making the festival bigger and the danger of drugs