Home We Are Laois Moment in Time Remember the Game: The 2006 minor hurling final between Clough-Ballacolla and Camross

Remember the Game: The 2006 minor hurling final between Clough-Ballacolla and Camross

Shane Hyland, Clough Ballacolla, and Craig Dooley, Camross, vie for possession. Picture: Alf Harvey.

Brought to you in association with First Choice Bathrooms and Tiles

This evening in O’Moore Park, Camross and Clough-Ballacolla will meet in the championship for the third year running.

Camross have won the previous two outings – the 2017 county final and last year’s third round group game.

We’re going back a bit further in time, however, to 2006 when they met in the Laois minor final, a game in which Camross entered as champions having won the final the year before, amazingly for the first time in their history (they only won their second in 2017).

But Clough-Ballacolla were in the process of bringing through a fine generation of players and they duly claimed their third minor title in five years – three years later they would claim their first senior since the Ballygeehan days almost 90 years earlier.

On this occasion Clough-Ballacolla were 0-12 to 0-10 winners, captained by Darren Maher and with other current seniors like Willie Hyland, Tom Delaney and Willie Dunphy playing too.

For Camross, current senior players Martin Burke, Darrell Dooley, Zane Keenan, Dean Delaney, Andrew Collier and Thomas Burke all started while Lorcan Burke was among the subs.

We’ve delved into Alf Harvey’s archives to bring you the photos from that game and for the record the teams were:

CLOUGH-BALLCOLLA: James McLoughney; Liam Meade, Ken Phelan, Niall Bergin; Tim Delaney, Darren Maher (captain), Lorcan Broderick; Tom Delaney, Willie Hyland; Aidan Doyle, Liam Hyland, Willie Dunphy; Shane Hyland, Joe Phelan, Michael Harrison. Subs: Eanna Byrne, James Maher, Tommy Nolan, Johnny Finane, Mark Gorman, Kenny Geoghegan, Shane Byrne, Kane Kavanagh

CAMROSS: Tomas Dunphy; Darren McCarthy, Martin Burke, Conor Doran; Craig Dooley, Darrell Dooley, Mark Conroy; Zane Keenan, Luke Maher; Dean Delaney, Andrew Collier, Daniel Lalor; Joseph Phelan, Thomas Burke, Ray Delaney. Subs: Darragh Ryan, Mark Hancock, Lorcan Burke, James Moore, Ger Dooley, Alan Bergin, Eoin Scully, Fergal Moore, Fergal Delaney, Darren Delaney, Thomas Phelan, Donie Coyne.

REFEREE: Liam Moran (Colt)

SEE ALSO – My Club and I: Darren Maher (Clough-Ballacolla)