Home Sport GAA Championship Diary: County final successes, football top scorers and camogie player of...

Championship Diary: County final successes, football top scorers and camogie player of the match awards

25 years on from Park-Ratheniska intermediate hurling success

Laois’s newest GAA club – Park-Ratheniska/Timahoe – face into their first county final this evening when they take on The Harps in the Laois JHC decider.

It’s a big occasion for the club who are putting in huge work at all levels to keep hurling alive in a part of Laois where football dominates.

This year actually marks the 25th anniversary of one of Park-Ratheniska’s biggest hurling successes – their 1994 intermediate triumph even if the final didn’t take place until St Patrick’s Day in 1994.

They beat Ballinakill in that intermediate final, the fifth year in success that Ballinakill lost that final.

Park-Ratheniska’s stay at senior, however, was a short one as they struggled at the higher grade which started for them just a couple of months later and were relegated again for the following season.

For the record, the Park-Ratheniska team that won that intermediate title in 1994 was: Murt McDonald; Dom Byrne, Ned Flanagan, Liam Greene; Seamus O’Connor, Liam Brennan, Pat Brennan; Jamie Cahill, Brendan Delaney; Andy Morrin, James Keegan, Noel Tynan; Denis Brennan, Des Conroy, Pat Keegan. Subs: Tom Bowe, Brendan O’Connell

Borris-Kilcotton hoping to repeat first success

After Borris-in-Ossory and Kilcotton joined forces in 2011, the first adult championship that they won was in 2012 when they lifted the intermediate title, getting the better of Colt on a scoreline of 2-6 to 0-11.

It meant that Ronan Kelly had the distinction of captaining two different winning teams in the grade having lifted the trophy for Borris-in-Ossory just three years earlier in 2013.

Borris-Kilcotton couldn’t go senior with their second team and ended up being relegated from the new Senior ‘B’ grade in 2013 – though instantly promoted again when they beat Park-Ratheniska in the new intermediate in 2014.

Borris in Ossory Kilcotton who defeated Colt in the IHC final at O’Moore Park.
Picture: Alf Harvey.
Borris in Ossory Kilcotton captain Ronan Kelly raises the trophy after winning the IHC final at O’Moore Park.
Picture: Alf Harvey.

They then did three years in Senior ‘A’ before being relegated in 2017. Now the club go for their third success in eight years.

This evening at 7.30pm in O’Moore Park they meet Camross in this year’s Laois IHC final.

The team that won them their first silverware in 2012 was: Eoin Fleming; Ronan Kelly, Paul Drennan, Owen Drennan; Cathal Moynan, Colm Comerford, Stephen Finan; John Wall, Rory Moore; Daire Quinlan, Alan Drennan, John Treacy; Bill Meade, Frankie Cullinana, Emmet Jones. Subs: Chris Jones, Niall Jones, William Campion, Enda Fitzpatrick, Cathal O’Donnell

Tight at the top of football’s top scorers list

The football championship is hurtling towards a conclusion with Portarlington’s big replay win over Graiguecullen in the Laois SFC finalising the semi-final lineup.

Portarlington will play a three-in-a-row chasing Portlaoise in one semi-final while Ballyfin and Killeshin will meet in a novel pairing in the other semi.

The latest results means the scoring charts up to and including the quarter-finals stages are now complete.

Overall, Portarlington’s Colm Murphy is now tied in first place with Crettyard’s Evan O’Carroll but with O’Carroll finished, Murphy should pull clear.

As of yet, no Portlaoise or Killeshin player are appearing in the top scorer lists though with only three games played each they are playing catch-up something they will get the chance to do in the coming weeks.

For the record, Killeshin’s top scorer David Aston has 1-11 while Portlaoise’s top scorer is Ronan McEvoy with 1-9.

The overall list of top scorers is as follows:

  1. Evan O’Carroll (Crettyard) 5-24 (39)
  2. Colm Murphy (Portarlington) 3-30 (39)
  3. Ross Munnelly (Arles-Kilcruise) 4-23 (32)
  4. Donie Kingston (Arles-Killeen) 3-20 (29)
  5. Sean Moore (Ballyfin) 4-15 (27)

From play

  1. Evan O’Carroll (Crettyard) 5-9 (24)
  2. Colm Murphy (Portarlington) 3-15 (24)
  3. Sean Moore (Ballyfin) 4-9 (21)
  4. Padraig McMahon (Ballyroan-Abbey) 4-9 (21)
  5. Ross Munnelly (Arles-Kilcruise) 2-14 (20)

LaoisToday and Laois Camogie team up for Player of the Match awards

The Laois camogie finals take place as a double header in O’Moore Park on Saturday with Camross facing Portlaoise in the junior final at 1pm and St Brigid’s meeting Camross at 3pm in the intermediate decider.

And for the first time ever in a Laois camogie final there will be a Player of the Match award in both games – which is being sponsored by LaoisToday.

The LaoisToday Player of the Match will presented immediately after both games.

“We’re delighted to sponsor this award,” says Steven Miller, owner and managing editor of LaoisToday.

“It is great to see the finals being played in O’Moore Park and the 20×20 movement to make ladies sports more visible is proving to be a huge success.

“Since LaoisToday started we have tried to give as much coverage as we can to ladies sports and this gesture is one way that we’re delighted to play our own small part in promoting ladies sport.”


SEE ALSO – New jerseys for St Joseph’s, ladies weekend and hurling top scorers