Home Sport GAA Laois hurling team named for trip to Galway

Laois hurling team named for trip to Galway

Laois manager Eamonn Kelly
Laois manager Eamonn Kelly

The Laois senior hurling team to play Galway on Sunday has been named.

Injuries to Podge Lawlor, Matthew Whelan and Stephen Maher sees starts for Sean Downey, Cian Taylor and Eanna Lyons.

Cha Dwyer and Ben Conroy have recovered sufficiently from illness to be named in the starting team while Willie Dunphy has also been named to start despite struggling with a hamstring injury in recent weeks.

Paddy Purcell moves to centre-back from midfield to replace Whelan while Cahir Healy reverts to the full-back line with Sean Downey coming in for his first league start at wing-back.

Cian Taylor is rewarded with a place in midfield alongside Conroy while Ballyfin’s Eanna Lyons make his league debut at wing-forward.

The game against Galway throws in at 2pm in Pearse Stadium on Sunday.

The Laois team in full is:
Enda Rowland (Abbeyleix)
Dwane Palmer (Camross)
Leigh Bergin (Shanahoe)
Cahir Healy (Portlaoise)
Sean Downey (Ballinakill)
Paddy Purcell (Rathdowney-Errill)
Ryan Mullaney (Castletown)
Cian Taylor (Portlaoise)
Ben Conroy (Slieve Bloom)
Eanna Lyons (Ballyfin)
Cha Dwyer (Ballinakill)
Paddy Whelan (Borris-Kilcotton)
Willie Dunphy (Clough-Ballacolla)
Neil Foyle (Borris-Kilcotton)
Ross King (Rathdowney-Errill)

Previous articleMy Club and I: Sarah Buggy (St Abbans AC)
Next articleSt Joseph’s goalkeeper, county footballer and Fianna Fail TD among the winners in first Laois GAA draw
Steven Miller is owner and managing editor of LaoisToday.ie. From Laois, Steven studied Journalism in DCU and has 14 years experience in the media, almost 10 of those in an editorial role. Husband of Emily, father of William and Lillian, he's happiest when he's telling stories or kicking a point.