Home Sport Soccer Four goal Murphy helps Portlaoise continue promotion push

Four goal Murphy helps Portlaoise continue promotion push

Ballyfermot United 0 Portlaoise AFC 5

Leinster Senior League Division 1B

Centre forward Jason Murphy scored four times as Portlaoise AFC romped to a fully deserved victory in Dublin this morning.

Con Dunne’s side went into the game in third place in the Leinster Senior League Division 1B table having not played for three weeks due to bad weather.

But they showed no signs of rustiness and this win sees them move keep the pressure on both St James Gate and Inchicore Athletic who sit above them

The game’s opening goal arrived after 22 minutes following a wonderful team move. Colm Poole and Paul Cahillane combined before Jody Dillon played the ball through to Jason Murphy who lobbed the advancing keeper with the outside of his boot.

The second came fifteen minutes later when, having initially been denied from distance by the Ballyfermot keeper, Murphy latched onto his own rebound to tap the ball home.

And Portlaoise made it 3-0 by half time as Murphy turned provider this time for strike partner Jody Dillon who fired home.

Portlaoise introduced Aaron Rafter just before half time after James Mullaney picked up a knock and it was the substitute’s through ball that created the fourth goal when Jason Murphy, after getting on the end of it, was taken down in the penalty area.

Murphy picked himself up and rifled home from 12 yards to complete his hat-trick.

Murphy and Portlaoise weren’t finished there though and they grabbed a fifth after 56 minutes. This time Oisin Fitzpatrick provided the assist and Murphy did the rest to confirm a big win.

It’s a quick turnaround for Portlaoise now who will face Hartstown Huntstown FC in Rossleighan Park on Wednesday night at 7.45pm in their next league game.

Mateusz Cwienk
Martin Staunton
Eoghan White
Mark Brennan
Oisin Fitzpatrick
Jimmy Dermody
Paul Cahillane
James Mullaney
Colm Poole
Jody Dillon
Jason Murphy

Aaron Rafter for Mullaney (43mins)
Shane Collins for Poole (56mins)
Derek Beale for Dillon (56mins)
Luke O’Brien for Cahillane (65mins)
Shane Brophy for Cwienk (75mins)


Previous articleThree finals for Turner in first weekend of World Paralympic Swimming Series
Next articleBrave Raheen just edged out in CCFL Cup while Towerhill thank Stradbally for playoff
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.