Home Sport GAA Four goal Antrim end Laois’s Minor Hurling League hopes

Four goal Antrim end Laois’s Minor Hurling League hopes

The Laois U-17 Celtic Challenge panel has been named

Laois 0-9 Antrim 4-10

Leinster Minor Hurling League Round 3

Antrim put four goals past Laois in O’Moore Park this afternoon to end the home side’s chance to qualify for the semi final.

Laois enjoyed a three point win over Dublin in round one but this big victory for the Saffrons puts them into the last four.

Laois began well with dual star Ciarán Comerford putting them ahead from distance. However, Antrim were well fired up for this one and they blasted into the lead thanks to two points each from Shane Magill and Seán Elliott.

But Laois settled into the game from there are responded to draw thanks to the excellent Comerford who took his tally to four points with 20 minutes on the clock.

But the final third of the first half proved crucial in the final outcome. Laois squandered possession in midfield and Antrim broke down field where the ball eventually fell to Seán Elliott who picked out the top corner of the net from close range.

Elliott and James Keyes swapped points before the interval to send Antrim into the half time break with a 1-5 to 0-5 lead.

The sides swapped points on the resumption of play with Oisin Bennett and Cathal Duggan seeing efforts for Laois responded to by Elliott and Anton McGrath for Antrim.

But the Saffrons went goal crazy after that to make sure that they would head back to Ulster with the victory.

Corner forward Ed McQuillan bagged two while wing forward David Kilgore popped up with another to give them an unassailable lead.

Laois kept trying but the best they could manage was points from Duggan and Bennett as they went down by 13 points.

SCORERS: Laois – Ciarán Comerford 0-4 (3frees), Oisin Bennett and Cathal Duggan 0-2 each, James Keyes 0-1. Antrim – Seán Elliott 1-6, 4frees, Shane Magill 0-2, Anton McGrath 0-2, David Kilgore 1-0, Ed McQuillan 2-0

Cathal Dunne (Clough-Ballacolla)
Conor Madden (Rathdowney-Errill)
Padge Delaney (The Harps)
John Maher (Rosenallis)
Diarmuid Conway (Clough-Ballacolla)
Ryan Murphy (Galmoy)
Liam Delaney (Camross)
Liam Senior (Clonaslee-St Manman’s)
PJ Daly (Clonad)
Oisin Bennett (Camross)
Joe McCormack (Castletown)
Ciarán Comerford (The Harps)
Brandon McGinley (Rathdowney-Errill)
Cathal Duggan (Portlaoise)
James Keyes (Colt)

Chris Rafter (Clough-Ballacolla) for McCormack
Eoin O’Connor (Portlaoise) for McGinley
Eoin Carey (Portlaoise) for Madden
Odhran Phelan (Camross) for Bennett
Pádraig Dunne (The Harps) for Duggan
Cormac Rigney (Portlaoise) for Murphy
Donnagh Callely (Rosenallis) for Keyes

Ruairi Sharpe
Manus Smith
Liam Gillan
Francis McCurry
Scott Walsh
Shane O’Connor
Shane Magill
Conor McHugh
Ryan McGarry
Michael McGreevy
David Kilgore
Seán Elliott
Anton McGrath
Ed McQuillan

Previous articleSaturday Sports Interview: Laois’s answer to Jackie Chan is hoping to win Olympic Gold
Next articleCatch up on all the excitement from the Rosenallis parade
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.