Home Sport GAA Clancy’s Graiguecullen inflict a second defeat on his old team

Clancy’s Graiguecullen inflict a second defeat on his old team

A big win for Graiguecullen tonight
A big win for Graiguecullen tonight

Graiguecullen 2-8 Ballyroan-Abbey 0-6

ACFL Division 1A

Pádraig Clancy tasted victory this afternoon as his new side made it back-to-back defeats for his old side.

Graiguecullen have taken well to life under the Timahoe native’s stewardship and this eight point win was their second in succession after beating Arles-Killeen by four points in round one.

Ballyroan-Abbey went down heavily against The Heath two weeks’ ago and although the margin was closer this time, they never really troubled Graiguecullen.

The Barrowsiders were at it from the off and they registered two goals in the first half.

Corner forward Danny Aylesbury smashed home the first midway through after some good work from Aaron Forbes.

Ballyroan-Abbey managed just two points in the opening half with one each from Adam Brennan and Eoghan Whelan.

But Graiguecullen kept on the front foot and Lee Timmons scored a second goal while Aaron Forbes and Ross Hennessy raised white flags to give them a 2-4 to 0-2 lead at half time.

Ballyroan-Abbey had the wind at their backs in the second half but they needed goals if they were going to mount a comeback.

They never came and instead they had to settle for points from Adam Brennan, Eoghan Whelan and Ciarán Carroll.

Graiguecullen kept their side of the scoreboard ticking as Ross Hennessy took his final tally to four while Danny Bolger and Aaron Forbes also chipped in with efforts.

Next for Graiguecullen is an away trip to league champions The Heath on Saturday evening while Ballyroan-Abbey will look to get off the mark when they host fellow recently promoted side O’Dempsey’s.

GRAIGUECULLEN: Danny Bolger (0-1); Eoin Aylesbury, Bobby Doyle, Wayne Humphries; Luke Aylesbury, Trevor Collins, Martin Doyle; James Doogue, Paul Mulready; Ross Hennessy (0-4), Jamie Sheehan, Danny O’Reilly; Danny Aylesbury (1-1), Aaron Forbes (0-2f), Lee Timmons (1-0). Subs: Thomas Brennan for Sheehan (38mins), Barry Regan for Timmons (45mins), Liam Kearney for B. Doyle (51mins), Ross Alcock for M. Doyle (55mins)

BALLYROAN-ABBEY: Christy Lalor; Michael Brennan, Gavin Tynan, Mark Cahill; Cian Moffit, Conor Brennan, Colin Kinsella; Aaron Carroll, Eoghan Whelan (0-2); Jamie Whelan (0-1), Aaron McEvoy, Ciarán Carroll (0-1); Adam Brennan (0-2), Charlie Whelan, Mark McDonald. Subs: Jake Walsh for C. Whelan (50mins)

Referee: Seamus Mulhare (The Heath)