Home Sport GAA Killeshin maintain 100% record in feisty affair while Annanough, Ballylinan and Portarlington...

Killeshin maintain 100% record in feisty affair while Annanough, Ballylinan and Portarlington also win

Wins for Killeshin, Ballylinan and Portarlington in tonight's ACFL Division 1B action
Killeshin are our fancy to book their place in the Laois SFC quarter-finals this evening

Killeshin 2-13 Emo 1-9

ACFL Division 1B

Killeshin overcame being reduced to 14 men with a quarter of the game remaining to beat hosts Emo by seven points this evening.

Mark O’Regan’s side have now recorded two wins from two games after their win over Annanough last weekend and they were full value for this win as they led from start to finish.

Killeshin played with the breeze in the first half and they scored the first three points of the encounter.

Evan Lowry, younger brother of Laois senior footballer Eoin, struck for the first two after some good work from Luke Attride and Adam Deering before Arnie Mahon popped up from centre back to add the third.

Luke Attride added another for Killeshin but Emo reeled off three points of their own – all of which came from midfielder Nigel Murphy – to reduce the deficit to the minimum at the midpoint of the half.

The sides then traded points with Luke Attride dissecting the posts for Killeshin while Brian Gorman did likewise for Emo before the away side finished the half with a flourish.

Evan Lowry kicked his third point of the half before he combined with Shane Bolger to set up Cathal Brennan on the edge of the 14 metre line and he drove forward before finding the top corner of the net to leave the half time score reading 1-6 to 0-4.

Emo turned with the wind at their backs and kicked a brace on the resumption of play thanks to Dylan Langford and Paul Lawlor but Killeshin responded emphatically with three in a row.

Alan Davis came all the way from corner back to raise a white flag from an acute angle before Cathal Brennan chipped in with two more.

Paul Lawlor reduced the arrears to five before Killeshin midfielder David Aston received a straight red card after appearing to kick out at David Gorman during a melee.

Emo made immediate use of their numerical advantage and reduced the margin to two points with ten minutes to go. Nigel Murphy pointed before older brother Shane’s long range effort somehow ended up in the back of the Killeshin net to set up and exciting final period.

Killeshin dug deep and kicked the next three points via Shane Bolger, Brennan and Adam Deering before they sealed victory with five minutes to go.

Brian Lowry turned over the ball deep in Emo’s half before feeding Evan Lowry who rounded keeper David Whelan and then planted the ball in the corner of the net.

Emo went in search of goals to try salvage a draw but the best they could manage was a Shane Murphy point and Cathal Brennan kicked the final score to seal a seven point win.

KILLESHIN: Shane Coakley; Alan Davis (0-1), Kevin Ryan, James Davis; Jeremy Mahon, Arnie Mahon (0-1), Shane Bolger (0-1); Luke Attride (0-2), David Aston; Paddy Doyle, Cathal Brennan (1-4, 3f), Evan Lowry (1-3); Adam Deering (0-1), Brian Lowry, Simon Attride. Subs: David Mahon for Doyle (55mins)

EMO: David Whelan; Paddy Dunne, James O’Rourke, Seán Ryan; Liam Crowley, David Gorman, Ian Fennelly; Nigel Murphy (0-4, 3f), Brian Gorman (0-1); Pádraig Kirwan, Shane Murphy (1-1), Chris Gleeson; Dylan Langford (0-1), Paul Lawlor (0-2f), Joe Molloy. Subs: Dylan Lawlor for Gleeson (ht), Chris Gleeson for Langford (48mins), Mick Lawlor for Kirwan (55mins)

Portarlington 4-8 Arles-Kilcruise 1-9

Portarlington picked up their second victory in Division 1B with a comfortable eight point win over Arles-Kilcruise in Arles this evening.

It was the away sides’ ability to find the back of the net that was the decisive factor in this one and this result leaves the hosts winless after three games.

Jason Ward and Graham Weldon netted in the first half for Portarlington to help them to a 2-2 to 0-5 lead at the interval.

Fran Egan was on target for Kilcruise in the first half and although he found the net in the second period, Johnny Irwin’s side never got within striking distance of their opponents.

Portarlington raised two green flags in the second half with Colm Murphy and Johnny Murphy rattling the back of the net on their way to a confident win.

Ballylinan 0-18 Portlaoise 0-6

Ballylinan moved top of Division 1B as Gary Walsh inspired them to a big home victory against Portlaoise tonight.

The Town played against the stiff breeze in the first half and only managed one point which came from Scott Lawless. Ballylinan kicked nine with Walsh to the fore and he was ably assisted by Ciaran Farrell and Cathail Dunne.

Leading by 0-9 to 0-1 at half time, Ballylinan kept their composure to run out twelve point winners in the end.

Lawless and substitute Mark Brophy tried to keep Portlaoise’s side of the scoreboard ticking but they never laid a glove on a rampant Ballylinan side.

Annanough 1-13 Crettyard 1-4

Newly promoted Annanough got their first win in Division 1B as a strong second half saw them get the better of Crettyard on Sunday evening.

Having lost their first two games to Portarlington and Killeshin, Annanough trailed 1-2 to 0-3 at half-time, Crettyard’s goal coming from Declan Murphy getting the goal and Cormac Murphy – who had been a sub for Laois earlier in the day – with the two points. Donal Miller scored the three Annanough points.

Annanough took over in the second half and points from David Kelly, Elliott Scully, Donal Miller, James Miller and Simon Miller as well as a well-taken goal from John Scully swung the game firmly in their favour.

Crettyard got two late points but Annanough had enough to spare.

ANNANOUGH: Sean Hennessy; Conor Stapleton, Rory Stapleton, Marcus Shortall; John Scully, Martin Stapleton, Ciaran Hennessy; Shane Stapleton, Seamus Stapleton; Paul Stapleton, Fergal Scully, James Miller; Elliott Scully, Donal Miller, Simon Miller. Subs: David Kelly, James Wright, Eoin Donlon, Johnny Fennelly

CRETTYARD: Darren Kelly; Michael Jordan, Sean O’Shea, Jason Dunne; James Kelly, Pa Brennan, Conor Barry; Pa O’Reilly, Sean O’Reilly; Michael Nash, Cormac Murphy, Declan Murphy; Eoin O’Shea, Jeff Moran, Cristoir Maher. Subs: Paul Delaney

Previous articleLIVE BLOG: Follow all the action as the Laois hurlers take on Kerry
Next articleHow Twitter and Facebook reacted to a great win for the Laois hurlers
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.