Home Sport GAA Murphy to the fore as Port end Ballylinan’s winning run

Murphy to the fore as Port end Ballylinan’s winning run

Join our Live Blog of tonight's JFC semi finals

Portarlington 2-13 Ballylinan 0-14

Laois Shopping Centre ACFL Division 1B

Colm Murphy led the way for Portarlington as he scored 1-9 in their win over Ballylinan in McCann Park this afternoon.

It was Ballylinan’s first loss as they came into the game on top of the Division 1B table thanks to three wins in their first three outings.

But the home side got off to a brilliant start and with Colm Murphy in top form, Port were always in control in the first half.

The Laois U-21 star got the first point of his tally after less than a minute and then combined with midfielder Eoin McCann moments later as Port bundled the ball over the Ballylinan line for their first goal.

Murphy would hit 1-7 in total in the opening 30 minutes, his goal a nice finish and a couple of long-range frees also among his highlights.

Three Gary Walsh frees was all Ballylinan could muster in response and it was 2-8 to 0-3 at the break. And Ballylinan were also dealt a big blow midway through the half when Alan Farrell was black-carded.

With the wind behind them Ballylinan were much more competitive in the second half but they were chasing a big lead.

Walsh landed a couple of nice frees and a gem of a sideline ball while Richie Ryan, Conor Behan and Jamie Farrell also found the range.

The sending off of Jason Moore with 15 minutes remaining meant Port were under pressure in the final quarter as Ballylinan scored the last seven points of the game but earlier Port points from Murphy, Sean Byrne, Robbie Piggott and Graham Weldon ensured they had enough of a lead built up.

SCORERS – Portarlington: Colm Murphy 1-9 (0-7 frees), Eoin McCann 1-0, Stevie Lyons, Robbie Piggott, Sean Byrne and Graham Weldon 0-1 each Ballylinan: Gary Walsh 0-10 (nine frees and one sideline) Conor Behan, Jamie Farrell and Richie Ryan 0-1 each

PORTARLINGTON: Gary Lanigan; Eoin Kennedy, Paddy O’Sullivan, Diarmuid Bennett; Robbie Piggott, Hayden Weldon, Sean Byrne; Cathal Ryan, Eoin McCann; Johnny Fulham, Jason Moore, Graham Weldon; Stevie Lyons, Colm Murphy, Curtis Lyons. Subs: Jake Foster for Ryan (injured – 54 mins)

BALLYLINAN: Liam O’Dea; Kevin Byrne, Cathal Leonard, Gary Kenna; Alan Farrell, Richie Ryan, Oisin Leonard; John Kealy, Jamie Farrell; Larry Kealy, Ciaran Farrell, Paudge Walsh; Jack Delaney, Gary Walsh, Conor Behan. Subs: for A Farrell (black card – 18 mins), Andy McEvoy for Delaney (22 mins), Dermot Leonard for L Kealy (45 mins), Larry Kealy for McEvoy (injured – 61 mins)

REFEREE: Seamus Mulhare (The Heath)