Home Sport GAA O’Dempsey’s make the most of the wind to beat The Heath

O’Dempsey’s make the most of the wind to beat The Heath

Peter O'Leary scored two goals as O'Dempsey's beat Arles-Killeen last night
O'Dempseys appealed the county board decision to award Portlaoise the ACFL Division 1 title

O’Dempsey’s 0-14 The Heath 0-10

Laois Shopping Centre ACFL Division 1A

The wind was a big factor in Killenard on Sunday afternoon as O’Dempsey’s built a big lead in the opening half when they the elements at their back and The Heath couldn’t fully reel them.

O’Dempsey’s led 0-11 to 0-3 at the break and while The Heath battled back valiantly, they couldn’t fully close the gap.

Two early points from Barry Kelly and Brian Nugent got the home side up and running and although Chris Bergin and Evin Keane had the sides level by the eighth minute, the scores soon came thick and fast for O’Dempsey’s.

A Matthew Finlay ’45 put them back into the lead in the 12th minute and then Sean McMahon, Nugent and Matthew Finlay again and Rory Bracken all scored to put them 0-7 to 0-2 clear.

Podge Whelan replied for The Heath but Nugent, Matthew Finlay (two) and Eoin Finlay all add on points to have O’Dempsey’s eight up at half-time.

Michael Finlay pushed O’Dempsey’s even further clear within a minute of the restart and although Colin Nestor and Bergin replied, another Michael Finlay score meant there was still eight between the sides entering the final quarter.

The Heath hit five points in a row – two from Bergin and one each from Nestor, Evin Keane and Daithi Carroll – to reduce the gap to three with five minutes remaining but O’Dempsey’s weathered the storm and a late Bryan Nugent point sealed the win.


SCORERS – O’Dempsey’s: Brian Nugent 0-4 (two frees), Matthew Finlay 0-4, Michael Finlay 0-2, Barry Kelly, Sean McMahon, Rory Bracken and Eoin Finlay 0-1 each; The Heath: Chris Bergin 0-4 (three frees), Evin Keane and Colin Nestor 0-2 each, Podge Whelan and Daithi Carroll 0-1 each

O’DEMPSEY’S: Padraig Bannon; Tommy Kehoe, Peter O’Leary, Cormac O’Hora; Barry Kelly, Shane Nerney, Eugene Nolan; Rory Bracken, Conor Meredith; Matthew Finlay, Brian Nugent, Michael Finlay; Sean McMahon, Eoin Finlay, Johnny Kelly. Subs: Conor Kavanagh for Bannon, Daithi Howlin for E Finlay, Bobby Sweeney for McMahon,

THE HEATH: Shane Booth; Aidan Bergin, Bob Delaney, Alan Whelan; Liam Campbell, Jimmy Nerney, Robbie Dowling; Colin Nestor, Ciaran Booth; Chris Bergin, Evin Keane, Mark Dunne; Podge Whelan, Daithi Carroll, Ciaran Hyland. Subs: Gary Smith for P Whelan and James Conroy for Hyland

SEE ALSO – Goals key as Portlaoise beat Arles-Killeen