Home Sport GAA Timmons makes a goal-scoring return but O’Dempsey’s win again

Timmons makes a goal-scoring return but O’Dempsey’s win again

O’Dempsey’s 2-16 Graiguecullen 2-8

Laois Shopping Centre ACFL Division 1A

Mark Timmons made his return from a lengthy injury lay-off and scored two goals after coming on as a sub – but it wasn’t enough to prevent home side O’Dempsey’s making it four wins out of five games in ACFL Division 1A.

Timmons hadn’t played since last year and underwent hip surgery over the winter. He came on as a second-half sub but despite striking for two goals, O’Dempsey’s were well clear at that stage and after five games they sit second in the table just behind an unbeaten St Joseph’s side.

O’Dempsey’s raced into a 1-3 to 0-0 lead after ten minutes, their goal coming from Rory Bracken with Bryan Nugent, Eoin Finlay and Michael Finlay scoring their points.

Graigue responded well and hit the next four points – two from Ambrose Doran and one each from Ian Fleming and a free from goalkeeper Danny Bolger.

Barry Kelly then pointed either side of a Bolger ’45 and O’Dempsey’s took a 1-5 to 0-5 lead into the break.

O’Dempsey’s made a fast start to the second half too, landing the first five points. Conor Meredith scored two of them while Barry Kelly, Johnny Kelly and Michael Finlay were also on target.

Ross Hennessy responded with a free for Graigue but O’Dempsey’s went nine clear by the 48th minute thanks to points from Bryan Nugent and Matthew Finlay.

Fleming and Doran kept the scoreboard moving for Graigue but Eoin Finlay and Matthew Finlay responded for O’Dempsey’s before sub Darren Fitzpatrick got through for O’Dempsey’s second goal to make it 2-14 to 0-8 with three minutes of normal time remaining.

Conor Meredith and Eoin Finlay added further points for O’Dempsey’s before Timmons marked his return to action with two late goals.

It made no difference to the result but it is encouraging for Laois and Graigue to see Timmons back on the pitch.

SCORERS – O’Dempsey’s: Eoin Finlay, Barry Kelly and Conor Meredith 0-3 each, Rory Bracken and Darren Fitzpatrick 1-0 each, Michael Finlay, Bryan Nugent and Matthew Finlay 0-2 each, Johnny Kelly 0-1. Graiguecullen: Mark Timmons 2-0, Ambrose Doran 0-3, Danny Bolger and Ian Fleming 0-2 each, Ross Hennessy 0-1

O’DEMPSEY’S: Conor Kavanagh; Tommy Kehoe, Peter O’Leary, Cormac O’Hora; Barry Kelly, Shane Nerney, Eugene Nolan; Rory Bracken, Conor Meredith; Matthew Finlay, Bryan Nugent, Michael Finlay; Sean McMahon, Eoin Finlay, Johnny Kelly. Subs: Darren Fitzpatrick for McMahon, Bobby Sweeney for Kehoe, Daithi Howlin for Nugent, Stephen O’Leary for Kelly

GRAIGUECULLEN: Danny Bolger; Martin Doyle, Trevor Collins, Sean Farrell; Luke Alsybury, Liam Kearney, Wayne Humphries; Danny O’Reilly, Shane O’Neill; Ross Hennessy, Ian Fleming, James Doogue; Lee Timmons, Aaron Forbes, Ambrose Doran

SEE ALSO – St Joseph’s beat Portlaoise to maintain 100% record