Home Sport Soccer Wins for Portlaoise Shamrocks and O’Moores in latest CCFL action

Wins for Portlaoise Shamrocks and O’Moores in latest CCFL action

Portlaoise Shamrocks reached the Division 1 Cup final
Portlaoise Shamrocks

Portlaoise Shamrocks advanced to the Michael Dolan Division 1 Cup final following a dramatic penalty shoot out victory over Camlin United on Saturday evening.

The sides finished level at 2-2 after extra time so the tie had to be settled by spot kicks.

Brendan Lacumbre and Kevin Fitzpatrick were on target for the Portlaoise side but Camlin forced penalties with two of their own.

In the end, former Laois and current Portlaoise senior footballer Bruno McCormack was the Shamrocks hero.

McCormack plays in goals for Shamrocks and he saved Camlin’s sixth penalty before stepping up and scoring the winner himself.

Shamrocks have now progressed to the final where they will face Walsh Island.

Elsewhere, there were cup wins for O’Moores and St Aengus.

O’Moores advanced to the LFA Junior Shield Final with a 1-0 win over Shinrone while St Aengus are in the Division 4 Cup final thanks to a 2-1 win over Geashill United.

But there wasn’t such good fortune for Raheen FC who lost 3-0 to Mullingar Town in the Paddy Cotter Cup.

The Laois side have recorded a number of giant killings on their way to the final but the Westmeath side proved too strong for them.

Meanwhile, Clonaslee United’s bid to win the CCFL Premier Division is over after they were beaten by Clara Town.

They went down 4-0 in a result which sees Clara crowned champions.