Home Sport GAA ACFL Division 1B round-up: Wins for Arles-Kilcruise, Ballylinan and Killeshin

ACFL Division 1B round-up: Wins for Arles-Kilcruise, Ballylinan and Killeshin

The future of the Laois GAA football leagues is to be examined by an external group
The future of the Laois GAA football leagues is to be examined by an external group

There were wins for Arles-Kilcruise, Ballylinan and Killeshin in tonight’s ACFL Division 1B games.

These, along with Portarlington’s win over Portlaoise, gives us a clearer picture of how the Division will unfold as we have now reached the midpoint of the competition.

Arles-Kilcruise 1-18 Annanough 0-10

Arles-Kilcruise put clear daylight between themselves and the drop zone following an eleven point win over Annanough tonight.

Johnny Irwin’s side have had a mixed campaign to date but this win puts them three points clear of Annanough and Crettyard who occupy the bottom two places.

The home side led the game from the start and had county star Ross Munnelly as top scorer as he led them to a 0-10 to 0-5 lead at the break.

Annanough held their own for long periods with Donal Miller and Shane Stapleton amongst the scorers.

However, the game was settled midway through the second half when Kevin Meaney lobbed Annanough keeper Seán Hennessy for the game’s only goal.

ARLES-KILCRUISE: Kenneth Kealy; Ciallan Mulhall, Michael Wall, Anthony McElroy; Caomhan Brennan, Colm Munnelly (0-1), Mark Wall; Alan McLoughlin (0-1), Kevin Meaney (1-0); Ross Munnelly (0-9), Brendan Conway (0-1), Jason McLoughlin (0-1); Chris Conway (0-3), Frances Egan, David Conway (0-2) Subs: Dermot Nolan for Brendan Conway, Conor Collins for Ross Munnelly

ANNANOUGH: Sean Hennessy; John Scully, Darren Maher, Conor Stapleton; Rory Stapleton (0-1), Martin Stapleton, Johnny Fennelly; Seamus Stapleton, Shane Stapleton (0-2); Jack Stapleton, James Miller, Simon Miller; Colin Miller (0-1), Donal Miller (0-3), Elliott Scully (0-1) Subs: James Wright for Paul Stapleton, Eoin Miller for Simon Miller, Daire Stapleton for Elliott Scully

Referee: David Moore (St Joseph’s)

Killeshin 4-10 Crettyard 0-8

Killeshin moved into second spot in the Division following a comprehensive victory over bottom side Crettyard.

This battle of neighbours turned into a very one sided affair quite quickly despite the fact that Crettyard kicked the first point of the game straight from the throw-in through Cormac Murphy.

Crettyard had pulled off a shock last week by beating promotion seeking Portarlington but their cause wasn’t helped here when full back Seán O’Shea put through his own net for Killeshin’s first goal after five minutes.

This spurred Killesin on and they scored two more goals through Arnie Mahon and Davis Aston to move 3-5 to 0-1 ahead by the midpoint of the half.

Evan O’Carroll and Cormac Murphy pulled points back for Crettyard but Killeshin struck for a fourth goal thanks to Eoin Lowry to take a 4-5 to 0-4 lead into half time.

The scoring calmed down considerably in the second half. Crettyard had Pa Brennan, Conor Barry and Evan O’Carroll on the scoreboard but these were all points when they needed to be goals.

Killeshin kept ticking away with points from Stephen Attride, Kevin Ryan and Eoin Lowry to win by 14 points in the end.

KILLESHIN: Shane Coakley; James Davis, Kevin Ryan (0-1), Jeremy Mahon; Alan Davis, Simon Attride, Shane Bolger; Arnie Mahon (1-0), Stephen Attride (0-1); Fionn Maher (0-1), Eoin Lowry (1-5), David Aston (1-0); Evan Lowry, Cathal Brennan (0-1), Adam Deering. Subs: Paddy Doyle (0-1) for A Mahon (ht), Luke Attride for Aston (40mins), Brian Lowry for Simon Attride (45mins), Pauric Bolton for Maher (50mins), Aidan O’Rourke for Deering (52mins)

CRETTYARD: Darren Kelly; Ciarán Hosey, Seán O’Shea, Jason Dunne; James Kelly, Pa Brennan (0-1), Michael Jordan; Pa O’Reilly, Conor Barry (0-1); Cormac Phelan, Evan O’Carroll (0-4), Pierce Nash; Eddie O’Reilly, Cormac Murphy (0-2), Phillip Brennan.

Referee: Brendan McCann (Portarlington)

Ballylinan 1-18 Emo 0-14

Ballylinan moved two points clear at the top of the ACFL Division 1B table thanks to a seven point win over Emo tonight.

Ballylinan produced a massive second half turn around to come back from four points down to win.

Emo were on top in the first half with player-manager Paul Lawlor, who top scored for them with seven points, to the fore as they took a 0-9 to 0-5 lead into the break.

But Ballylinan turned things around dramatically in the second half and they now sit pretty at the top of the Division while Emo find themselves just three points off the drop.

READ ALSO – The Heath end St Joseph’s winning streak with late point

Previous articleBack-to-back wins for Laois following stunning display
Next articleLate rally sees O’Dempsey’s snatch a draw against Arles-Killeen
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.