Home Sport GAA Strong second half sees Rathdowney-Errill past Slieve Bloom

Strong second half sees Rathdowney-Errill past Slieve Bloom

Rathdowney-Errill 2-17 Slieve Bloom 0-17

Intermediate Hurling Championship Round 1

A strong second half was enough for Rathdowney-Errill to get the better of Slieve Bloom in Borris-In-Ossory in round 1 of the intermediate hurling championship tonight.

These sides operated in different divisions in the league this year. Rathdowney-Errill reached the Division 1A semi-final where they were beaten by Colt.

While Slieve Bloom fought successfully to stave off relegation in Division 2 – so, on that logic, Rathdowney-Errill came into the game as firm favourites.

However, they didn’t have it all their own way. After an even start, Slieve Bloom took control with the excellent Gavin Conroy flawless from frees while Robbie Burke and John Paul Campion also chipped in with points to move them seven points clear at one stage.

But Rathdowney-Errill battled back and, aided by an Eoin Bourke goal, they tied the match to leave the scoreline reading 1-6 to 0-9 at half time.

The men in red and green were in the ascendancy now as Bourke, Enda Meaghar and Shane Madden all found their range in the second half.

But it was the introduction of Brian Bowe which gave Rathdowney-Errill an extra edge.

He ended the game with 1-3 to his name as Rathdowney-Errill ran out six point winners in the end.

They will now advance to the winners section of Round 2 while Slieve Bloom are now in the losers draw.

They must avoid defeat against one of Park-Ratheniska, Portlaoise or the loser of Clough-Ballacolla and Clonad in the next stage or they will be in a relegation final.

Meanwhile, Rathdowney-Errill will be drawn against one of Trumera, Camross or the winners of Clough-Ballacolla and Clonad where a semi-final place will be up for grabs.

SCORERS – RATHDOWNEY-ERRILL: Eoin Bourke 1-6, Brian Bowe 1-3, Enda Meagher and Shane Madden 0-3 each, Vinny Cleere and Shane Dollard 0-1 each SLIEVE BLOOM: Gavin Conroy 0-11 (0-10 frees), John Paul Campion and Robbie Burke 0-2 each, Darragh Delaney and James Tobin (free) 0-1 each

RATHDOWNEY-ERRILL: Damien Madden; Pat Mahon, Lar Mahon, Kevin O’Dea; Mark Treacy, Niall Delaney, Vinny Cleere; Shane Dollard, Paddy Meehan; Mark Dunne, Eoin Bourke, Enda Meagher; Dan Bourke, Shane Madden, Jordan Kavanagh. Subs: Brian Bowe for Kavanagh, Ray Bowe for Dunne

SLIEVE BLOOM: Niall Higgins; Gearóid Lowry, Tom Delaney, Ciarán Drea; Fergal Burke, James Tobin, Enda Conroy; John Lowry, Shane Farrell; Ross Holmes, Darragh Delaney, Robbie Burke; John Paul Campion, Martin Delaney, Gavin Conroy. Subs: Sean Nolan for Drea, Paul Heffernan for Holmes

Referee: Ronan Devanny

SEE ALSO – Clough-Ballacolla up and running after win over Portlaoise