Home Sport GAA Fast start sends Portlaoise on their way

Fast start sends Portlaoise on their way

Craig Rogers scored a late equalising point for Portlaoise in their IFC quarter-final against The Rock
Portlaoise 1-12 Barrowhouse 0-8

Laois Shopping Centre IFC Round 1 

Brought to you in association with Crown Paints Portlaoise

Portlaoise made full use of the wind advantage in the opening half of the Laois IFC game in Timahoe on Friday evening.

The Town’s second team held a 13-point lead at the break, holding Barrowhouse scoreless in the process. The Kildare-border side battled back well in the second half but the result was never really in doubt.

While Paddy Downey came up from wing-back to get the game’s first point and Craig Rogers also landed a free, it was Laois minor panelist Jason Maher that did most of the damage in the opening half. He score three of Portlaoise’s first five points and then lobbed keeper Darragh Phelan to put them 1-5 to no score up after 15 minutes.

And Portlaoise only inflicted more damage as the half went on, Rogers adding two more points before Aaron Rafter also added two and Kevin Fitzpatrick added one. Indeed Rafter’s second point could well have been a goal but he shot over the bar from close range. At the break Portlaoise led 1-10 to 0-0.

Portlaoise got the first two points of the second half as well, from Liam McGovern and Ronan Molloy, but that was to be the end of their scoring. Eric Mackey got Barrowhouse off the mark and would go on to kick six points from there to the finish. Brian ‘Bugsy’ Malone and Joe Murphy got their other two points.

But John Larkin’s men had left themselves far too steep a mountain to climb and they’ll now have to pick themselves up for their second chance in the losers section.

The draw for the next round of the IFC will be made on Sunday in O’Moore Park with Emo, Courtwood, Rosenallis and Portlaoise all in the winners section where they will be drawn to play each other. The losers section has Timahoe, Annanough, Barrowhouse and The Rock in it with the winners of that side going back into the quarter-finals but the losers facing a relegation decider.

SCORERS – Portlaoise: Jason Maher 1-3, Craig Rogers 0-3 (two frees), Aaron Rafter 0-2, Kevin Fitzpatrick, Paddy Downey, Liam McGovern and Ronan Molloy 0-1 each. Barrowhouse: Eric Mackey 0-6 (four frees), Brian Malone and Ger Murphy 0-1 each

PORTLAOISE: Michael Nolan; Darragh McAuley, Colin Finn, Fintan Walsh; Paddy Downey, Jack Browne, Oisin Fitzpatrick; Dean Cullen, Shane Smyth; Ronan Molloy, Craig Rogers, Liam McGovern; Jason Maher, Kevin Fitzpatrick, Aaron Rafter. Subs: Aindle Macgearailt for Smyth, Dylan McCabe for Fitzpatrick, Craig Scully for Cullen, Pat Travers for Molloy

BARROWHOUSE: Darragh Phelan; Thomas McDonald, Thomas Page, Stevie Langton; Denis Brophy, Joe Murphy, Michael Langton; Mark Braithwaite, Luke Malone; Martin Murphy, Eric Mackey, Neal O’Shaughnessy; James Baldwin, Brian Malone, Andrew Baldwin. Subs: Pauric Whelan, Kieran Murphy, Aaron Mackey, James Brennan

REFEREE: Des Cooney (St Joseph’s)

SEE ALSO – All of Friday night’s Laois GAA results

Previous articleAll of Friday night’s Laois GAA results
Next articleCourtwood withstand late fight back from The Rock