Home Sport GAA Timahoe get the better of Parish neighbours Annanough

Timahoe get the better of Parish neighbours Annanough

Timahoe got the better of Annanough tonight
Timahoe got the better of Annanough tonight

Timahoe 1-15 Annanough 2-6

Laois Shopping Centre Intermediate Football Championship Round 2 Qualifiers

Timahoe are through to the IFC quarter finals after seeing off Parish neighbours Annanough in Stradbally tonight.

Tom McKittrick’s side didn’t get off to the best of starts as they found themselves four points behind after ten minutes.

However, they then switched Brendan Quigley in to full forward and he wreaked havoc – scoring five points and setting up countless goal chances.

This was a good performance from Annanough and had they not lost Donal Miller to injury in the first half, they may have got closer to Timahoe than the six points which separated them in the end.

That said, they were also thankful to their goalkeeper Seán Hennessy who pulled off no fewer than five top class saves over the hour.

Timahoe almost had a goal with their first attack of the game as Brendan Quigley surged forward and unleashed a pile driver which Seán Hennessy clawed away.

Donal Miller began the scoring with a long range point for Annanough but Timahoe replied via Ruairi O’Connor.

However, Annanough took over then. Elliott Scully landed a free before Rory Stapleton scored a brilliant goal.

He collected the ball deep inside his own half and ran forward before popping the ball off to Elliott Scully who forced a great save from Eoin Culliton. However, the ball came back to Stapleton who fisted it into an empty net.

Timahoe responded well to that set back. Robbie Foyle and Colum Dunne landed a point each before Annanough lost the influential Donal Miller to a calf injury at the midpoint of the half.

And Timahoe took the lead for the first time shortly after. Quigley was the creator as his clever reverse pass sent Joe O’Connor clear and he smashed the ball into the net.

Ruairi O’Connor then kicked a brace before Andy Daly came up from centre back to move Timahoe four clear as we entered the closing stages of the half.

James Miller kept Annanough in it with a brace of frees either side of another Ruairi O’Connor point to leave Timahoe 1-7 to 1-4 in front at the break.

Annanough failed to score in the third quarter of the game and that cost them dearly in the end.

Brendan Quigley and Colum Dunne kicked two points each in that period for Timahoe and the former was denied a goal at point blank range by the excellent Hennessy.

Shane Stapleton cut the gap to six points after he beautifully curled a shot between the posts but three more Timahoe points followed from Quigley (2) and Dunne while Richie Oxley became the latest Timahoe player to see a goalbound shot saved by Hennessy.

James Miller and Michael Kennedy traded points as we headed for full time. Annanough grabbed a consolation goal when Donal Miller, who had been reintroduced after Rory Stapleton went off injured, fisted an Elliott Scully free to the net.

But there was time for no more and Timahoe will now take on Courtwood for a place in the last four while Annanough will face Barrowhouse in the relegation decider in two weeks’ time.

SCORERS – TIMAHOE: Brendan Quigley 0-5, Ruairi O’Connor 0-4, Colum Dunne 0-4 (0-3 frees), Joe O’Connor 1-0, Andy Daly, Michael Kennedy and Robbie Foyle 0-1 each ANNANOUGH: Donal Miller 1-1, Rory Stapleton 1-0, James Miller 0-3 (0-2 frees) Elliott Scullt 0-1 (0-1 frees), Shane Stapleton 0-1

TIMAHOE: Eoin Culliton; Richie Oxley, James O’Connor, James Whelehan; Joe O’Connor, Andy Daly, Seán Daly; Brendan Quigley, Colm Lalor; Colum Dunne, Conor Whelehan, Michael Kennedy; Martin Bergin, Ruairi O’Connor, Robbie Foyle. Subs: Seán Dundon for Bergin (29mins, black card), Seán Ramsbottom for Foyle (46mins), Roghan Haedon for R. O’Connor (55mins), Paddy Brady for A. Daly (58mins)

ANNANOUGH: Seán Hennessy; Marcus Shortall, Rory Stapleton, Conor Stapleton; Paul Stapleton, Marty Stapleton, Seamus Stapleton; Shane Stapleton, Donal Miller; James Wright, James Miller, Fergal Scully; David Booth, Elliott Scully, John Scully. Subs: David Kelly for Donal Miller (15mins, inj), Simon Miller for Wright (41mins), Darren Hennessy for Booth (50mins), Donal Miller for R Stapleton (55mins, inj)

Referee: Joe Brennan (Crettyard)

SEE ALSO – All of this evening’s Laois GAA results