Home Sport GAA Celebrations for Mountmellick as they claim Junior B hurling title

Celebrations for Mountmellick as they claim Junior B hurling title

The Mountmellick team who won the Laois JHC B final

Mountmellick 4-18 Camross 1-9

Laois Shopping Centre Junior B Hurling Championship Final

Mountmellick are now back in the Junior A grade after comprehensively beating Camross this evening at O’Moore Park.

After being relegated from the higher junior grade last year, they reached this year’s final on the back of three wins in a row – against Clough-Ballacolla, Mountrath and Kyle.

Mountmellick midfielder John Connolly opened the scoring in the first minute of the game. Camross quickly responded with a goal of their own before Connolly answered with a belter ripping the back of the Camross net in the thrid minute.

Connolly added another point to his tally and a Donnchadh Hartnett pass found wing-forward Kevin Dunphy who landed another over the bar for Mountmellick.

A pass into the square by Redmond McEvoy found Nigel Murphy, who volleyed the ball into the back of the net to leave it Mountmellick 2-2 to Camross’s 1-0 in the tenth minute.

Camross added to the scoreboard with a free from Paddy Bergin, who became an influential player for the black and amber side during the match.

Mountmellick’s Mick Bermingham added 3 points, 2 from frees before Bergin added another free from outside the 21 yard line for Camross.

Mountmellick made good use of the wide pitch and crossed the play beautifully between sides which resulted in points for Laurence Kenny, Barry Mangan, Redmond McEvoy and Nigel Murphy.

Bermingham and Bergin traded points to leave it Mountmellick 2-10 Camross 1-03 in the 25th minute.

Murphy, McEvoy and Kevin Dunphy would all add points for Mountmellick before Camross wing-forward Daniel Delaney added one for his side and left the score Mountmellick 2-13 Camross 1-4 at half-time.

The Camross team that played Mountmellick in the JHC B final

Camross started the second half with vigour with goalie Niall Cuddy making some great saves to deny Mountmellick more goal scoring chances.

Bergin placed another two over the bar for Camross which was met by a point from Laurence Kenny on the opposing end.

Mountmellick’s half-back line, consisting of Bernard Rochford, Donnchadh Hartnett and Peter Dunne defended particularly well, not letting much get past their line.

Bermingham and Bergin traded frees again with Bergin adding another from play.

Redmond McEvoy saw his hard work come to flourish in the 45th minute as he landed the ball into the back of the net. Teammate Barry Mangan rocketed another into the net leave Mountmellick at 4-15.

A point from McEvoy and free from Bermingham added to Mountmellick’s scoring while Brian Hancock fired a point for Camross.

Mountmellick captain Bernard Rochford added one last point to his side’s tally and left Mountmellick the winners on a scoreline of 4-18 to 1-9.



SCORERS – Mountmellick: Michael Bermingham 0-7, (0-5 frees) Nigel Murphy 1-2, John Connolly 1-1, Redmond McEvoy 1-2, Barry Mangan 1-1, Kevin Dunphy 0-2, Bernard Rochford 0-1, Laurence Kenny 0-2.  Camross:  Paddy Bergin 0-7 (0-5 frees), Kevin Lalor 1-0, Daniel Delaney 0-1, Brian Hancock 0-1.

MOUNTMELLICK: Dan Grehan; Ian Moore, Ian Fennelly, Barry Conroy; Bernard Rochford, Donnchadh Hartnett, Peter Dunne; Barry Mangan, John Connolly; Laurence Kenny, Seamus Stapleton, Nigel Murphy; Kevin Dunphy, Redmond McEvoy, Michael Bermingham. Subs: Liam Crowley for Seamus Stapleton (half-time), Eoin Hogan for I Moore (40 minutes), Eddie Melia for K Dunphy (53 minutes), Seamus Stapleton for L Kenny (56 minutes)

CAMROSS: Niall Cuddy; Shane Scully, Pakie Cuddy, Larry Cuddy; Damien Ryan, Peter Guilfoyle, Michael O’Sullivan; David Mortimer, Michael Doran; Conor Doran, Brendan O’Sullivan, Daniel Delaney; Alan Bergin, Kevin Lalor, Paddy Bergin. Subs: Gerard Guilfoyle for M Doran (44 minutes-injury), Brian Hancock, Cillian Tiernan.

Referee: JJ Gorman (Clough Ballacolla)

SEE ALSO – Mountrath shop robbed at gunpoint; getaway car crashed

Previous articleLive Blog: All of Saturday’s Laois GAA club championship action
Next articleRosenallis too strong for Mountrath as they book semi-final place