Home Sport GAA Ballypickas and Rathdowney-Errill to contest JHC final

Ballypickas and Rathdowney-Errill to contest JHC final

Kieran Bowe of Ballypickas is the latest person to take part in My Club and I
Ballypickas have won their way through to the Laois JHC 'A' final

Ballypickas and Rathdowney-Errill will contest the JHC final following wins over Castletown and The Harps respectively.

Ballypickas 2-14 Castletown 3-7

Ballypickas have reached the JHC final following a brilliant individual display from MJ Lalor.

The sharpshooter scored 1-8 as his side ran out four point winners over Castletown.

This now means that Ballypickas are on course for a league and championship double and will now contest their first junior final since losing out to Timahoe five years ago.

There was little between them in the first half. Seamus Lyons scored a goal for Castletown but Jim Leech replied for Ballypickas and they led by 1-7 to 1-6 at half time.

MJ Lalor and Paddy Boggan extended Ballypickas’ lead on the resumption of play and although Seamus Lyons replied for Castletown, a well taken goal from Lalor gave them a nice cushion.

Castletown refused to go away though and goals via Paudge Cuddy and Kieran Carroll set up a tense final few minutes but Ballypickas prevailed.

BALLYPICKAS: Noel Concannon; Tim Cass, Pat Gorman, Brian Lalor; Eoin McEvoy, Liam Lalor, Evin Hennessy; Killian Dara McWey (0-2); Paddy Boggan (0-2), MJ Lalor (1-8), Ger Whelan; Tom Whelan, Kieran Bowe, Jim Leech (1-2). Subs: Hugh O’Connor for L Lalor, Willie McDonald for Bowe, Dan Ward for McEvoy

CASTLETOWN: Ger Cuddy; Dan Brophy, Damien Brophy, Eoin Cuddy; Tadgh Dooley, Leighlin Hegarty, Kevin Carroll (1-0); Jack Palmer, Mick Cuddy; Paudge Cuddy (1-0), Paul Cuddy (0-2), Michael Cuddy (0-1); Ciarán Cuddy, Seamus Lyons (1-4), Joe McCormack. Subs: Gearóid Kirwan for D Brophy, Jack Peters for C Cuddy, Eoin Dooley for McCormack

Rathdowney-Errill 0-15 The Harps 0-10

14-man Rathdowney-Errill booked their place in the JHC final after a five point win over The Harps.

They had to play twenty minutes of the second half with 14 men after Paddy Carroll was sent off but they still managed to hold on.

The result means that they will play in both the Junior and Intermediate finals after the latter saw off Clough-Ballacolla.

The opening period of the first half saw the sides trade points with Ross Young and Conor Deegan on the scoreboard for The Harps while Conor Madden and Pat Whelan did likewise for Rathdowney-Errill.

But the victors ended the half with points from Brandon McGinley, Paddy Whelan and Colm Ryan to go in 0-9 to 0-6 ahead at half time.

The Harps had Ross Young to thank for three second half points and while sub John Lawless added another, that would be their lot for the second half.

Conor Madden, John Delaney and Paddy Whelan scored enough between them to make up for the loss of their centre forward to a red card as Rathdowney-Errill prevailed.

RATHDOWNEY-ERRILL: John Paul Ryan; Niall Delaney, Shane Meehan, Edward Kilmartin; Ned Browne, Darragh Carroll, Seán Delaney; John Delaney (0-1), Cormac Ryan (0-1); Colm Meehan (0-1), Paddy Carroll (0-1), Paddy Whelan (0-6); Conor Madden (0-4), Brian Meehan, Brandon McGinley (0-1)

THE HARPS: Liam Dunphy; James Larkin, Shane Brophy, Seán Cahill; David Doheny, Dan Delahunty, Shane Fitzpatrick; Rory Moore, Eoin O’Sullivan (0-1); Ross Young (0-6), Brian Farrell, Cathal Phelan; Niall Brophy (0-1), Darren Maher (0-1), Conor Deegan (0-1). Subs: Eoin Deegan for C Deegan, John Lawless (0-1) for Phelan

Previous articleClonaslee strike late to claim U-16 B football title
Next articleDeaths in Laois – September 28, 2017
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.