Home Sport GAA Laois make losing start to Fr Manning Cup

Laois make losing start to Fr Manning Cup

The Laois U-16 team who lost to Offaly yesterday in the Fr Manning Cup
The Laois U-16 team who lost to Offaly yesterday in the Fr Manning Cup

Laois 1-10 Offaly 2-15

Fr Manning Cup Round 1

Laois made a losing start to the Fr Manning Cup as they went down by eight points to Offaly in the Training Centre on Sunday.

This team will be the Laois minor team next year and they will have Ballyfin man Donncha Phelan in charge after he was put forward last week.

Donie Brennan and Pat O’Sullivan were in charge on Sunday as Laois got off to a very slow start, trailing 1-2 to no score after ten minutes.

Laois did get going though after that with Seth Burns setting up Enda McWey for a brace either side of a free from Ross Bolger.

Offaly responded with two more points but Bolger and McWey slotted further points to keep Laois in it.

The O’Moore’s almost had a goal before half time when McWey and Mark O’Connell created an opportunity for Damon Larkin but he was very unlucky to see the ball just knocked away from him as he bore down on goal.

Laois trailed by 1-6 to 0-6 at half time and although an early Ross Bolger free reduced the arrears to two on the resumption of play, they went scoreless for the following 13 minutes.

In that time, Offaly scored 1-7 and that put the game beyond Laois.

Mark O’Connell finally lifted the siege with a point and Laois did at least end the game well.

Substitutes Brian Dunne and Cathal Doyle slotted a point each while Josh Lacey popped up with a goal but it was mere consoleation in the end.

Laois will now face Meath away next Saturday in Round 2 before ending the group stage against Leitrim on Monday week.

SCORERS – LAOIS: Ross Bolger 0-4 (0-4 frees), Enda McWey 0-3, Josh Lacey 1-0, Mark O’Connell, Brian Dunne and Cathal Doyle 0-1 each

LAOIS: Oisin Keogh (Emo); Eoin Fitzpatrick (Killeshin), Seán O’Neill (The Rock), Cathal Bennett (Portarlington); Josh Lacey (St Joseph’s), Ciarán Byrne (Ballyroan-Abbey), Seth Burns (Courtwood); Seán Michael Corcoran (Portarlington), Ned Ryan (Emi); Darragh Galvin (Portarlington), Damon Larkin (Portlaoise), Enda McWey (Ballyroan-Abbey), Seamus Farrelly (St Joseph’s), Ross Bolger (Killeshin). Subs: Tom Wright (Ballylinan) for Keogh (ht), Oisin Murray (Clonaslee-St Manman’s) for Burns (33mins), Mikey Bennett (Portarlington) for Ryan (37mins), Brian Dunne (Portlaoise) for Bolger (39mins), Ben Conroy (Portlaoise) for McWey (39mins), Conor McCarthy (Portarlington) for Fitzpatrick (44mins), Cathal Doyle (Ballyroan-Abbey) for Corcoran (46mins), Curtis Lee (Mountmellick) for O’Connell (50mins)

Referee: David Moore (St Joseph’s)