Home Sport GAA Last minute goal means Na Fianna and Rosenallis must do battle another...

Last minute goal means Na Fianna and Rosenallis must do battle another day

Rosenallis 2-12 Na Fianna 3-9

Laois Shopping Centre U-21 FC ‘B’ Semi Final

A last minute goal from Na Fianna’s Fergal Murphy ensured these two sides would meet again in a semi-final replay.

Rosenallis led for most of the match but top-class performances from Ciaran Lawlor, Murphy and Brian Malone let Na Fianna back into the match in the final 10 minutes.

Na Fianna started the match strongly with a goal in the first minute off the boot of Fergal Murphy. Joseph Shelly replied with a free for the men in green which was met a minute later with another point for Na Fianna.

Shelly stepped up with a goal for Rosenallis followed by points by Eoin Dunne, Jack Claffey and a Shelly free.

Na Fianna didn’t shy away and produced four points, including a free, without reply before Rosenallis’ Paul Maher hit the net in the 30th minute to leave the score at half-time Rosenallis 2-5 Na Fianna 1-6.

Second-half turnaround 

Rosenallis remained in control for much of the second half landing two points from frees and a point from play inside the first ten minutes.

Eoin Dunne, Stephen Kelly and Jack Claffey all slotted more points over the bar for Paddy Dunne’s side to lead 2-10 to 1-8 after 50 minutes.

It wouldn’t be until Brian Malone’s goal in the 52nd minute that Na Fianna began to rattle the Rosenallis men.

Na Fianna pushed on and with a mass of bodiess on the Na Fianna full-forward line, it was Fergal Murphy who put the ball into the back of the net in the last minute of normal time to keep Na Fianna’s final hoeps alive for another day.

The full-time score ended Rosenallis 2-12 Na Fianna 3-9.

SCORERS- Rosenallis: Joseph Shelly 1-3 (0-3 frees), Paul Maher 1-0, Eoin Dunne 0-5 (0-2 frees), Jack Claffey 0-3, Stephen Kelly 0-1, Na Fianna: Fergal Murphy 2-0, Brian Malone 1-3, Kevin Brennan 0-2, James Baldwin 0-1

ROSENALLIS: Dermot Dunne; Cormac White, Adam McDermott; Paul Maher, Ciaran White, Sean Dunne; Stephen Kelly, Eoin Dunne; Jack Friel, John Lennon, Fiachra C Fennell; Joseph Shelly, Jack Claffey

NA FIANNA: Darragh Phelan; Conan Brennan, Cialann Mulhall; James Baldwin, Mark Wall; Ciaran Lawlor, Caomhan Brennan; Evan McDonald, Brian Malone; David Lalor, Fergal Murphy.

SEE ALSO – All of Saturday’s Laois GAA results