Home Sport GAA WATCH: Camross slide their way to U-13 hurling success

WATCH: Camross slide their way to U-13 hurling success

The Camross U-13 team who won the championship this morning
The Camross U-13 team who won the championship this morning

Camross 3-7 Castletown-Slieve Bloom 2-7

Midlands Park Hotel U-13 Hurling Championship Final

What a year it has been for Camross!

After already winning the senior, minor, U-17 and camogie titles, they have now added an U-13 trophy to their haul.

This came this morning after they edged out old rivals Castletown-Slieve Bloom in a thriller at the Training Centre.

This was the third time that these two had met in an underage final this year – having previously clashed in the U-17 and minor deciders – with Camross winning all of them.

Camross got off to a great start here and were two points up in the first minute thanks to James Cuddy and Ben Deegan.

Castletown recovered though and the sides were level at 0-3 apiece by the midpoint of the half as points from Ciarán McKelvey (2) and Aaron Phelan were replied to by Ben Deegan.

But Camross finished the half strongly. James Cuddy crashed in for the game’s first goal while also adding points to leave his side 1-6 to 0-3 ahead at the break.

But Castletown refused to go away and they produced a stunning comeback on the resumption of play to get back level.

Ciarán McKelvey raised a green flag while Seán Peters, Aaron Doran and Jack McKelvey all shot points to make it 1-6 each.

But Cmaross’s response was emphatic. James Cuddy scored a second goal while Eoghan Cuddy also popped up with one before Emmet Bergin’s point put seven between the teams with five minutes to play.

But Castletown refused to give up. Aaron Phelan scored their second goal and Ciarán McKelvey added another point to reduce the arrears to just three points.

Nevertheless, there wasn’t time for a third goal and Carmoss held on to claim the cup.

SCORERS – CAMROSS: James Cuddy 2-3, Eoghan Cuddy 1-1, Ben Deegan 0-2, Emmett Bergin 0-1 CASTLETOWN-SLIEVE BLOOM: Ciaran McKelvey 1-3, Aaron Phelan 1-1, Seán Peters, Conor Doran and Jack McKelvey 0-1 each

CAMROSS: Rick Bannon; Aaron Carroll, Cathal Cuddy, Matthew Bergin; Shane Higgins, Ben Deegan, Ryan Cuddy; James Cuddy, Tom Cuddy; Eoghan Cuddy, Josh Hynes, Scott Cuddy; Dara Breen, Kevin Byrne, Emmet Bergin. Subs: Scott Kyle, Ross Phelan, Jack Cuddy, Harry Peavoy, Ciaran Keenan, Cillian Walsh, Scott Holmes, Aaron Dowling

CASTLETOWN-SLIEVE BLOOM: Ryan Peters; Cillan Bremen, Jay Cuddy, Ray Goode; Joe Dowling, Aaron Phelan, Paks O’Connor; Jack Breen, Rory Kelly; Sean Peters, Ciaran McKelvey, Jamie Phelan; Conor English, Conor Doran, Sean Og Byrne. Subs: Jack Mckelvey, Josh Palmer, Mark Doyle, Sean Og Delaney, Ethan Neville, Ryan O Connor, Tom Og Phelan, John Egan, Alex Powe

Referee: Adrian McCartney (Clough-Ballacolla)

SEE ALSO – All square after U-21 hurling final thriller

Previous articlePort thump the Gaels in replay to reach U-21 final
Next articleA late goal denies Emo of a Leinster semi-final place
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.