Home Sport GAA Portlaoise ladies turn on the style to claim minor glory

Portlaoise ladies turn on the style to claim minor glory

The Portlaoise ladies football team that beat Ballyroan in the minor final in Mountmellick on Sunday
Portlaoise 2-15 Ballyroan 4-7   

Laois Ladies Football Minor Final

Portlaoise won their first Laois Ladies Football Minor A Championship title since 2008 when they just edged out a battling Ballyroan team in the 2017 final played in Mountmellick on Sunday.

With the aid of a significant wind Ballyroan, who had disposed of St Conleths in the Semi-final, got down to business straight away and led by 1-3 to 0-1 after ten minutes.

By half time, mainly with the help of full forward Aoife Delaney, they had widened the gap to seven points, 3-4 to 1-3.

Backed by the elements in the second half Portlaoise set about hauling in their opponents and slowly but surely chipped away at the lead, with corner forward Leah Loughman showing the way to her colleagues.

Aoibhe O’Brien, Shaunagh Dunne and Jennifer O’Neill also found the target. A goal by Ballyroan’s Emily McWey stopped the one-way traffic briefly but Portlaoise finished strongly and deservedly picked up their third Minor A win.

The Kelly Cup was presented to Portlaoise captain Shaunagh Dunne by Laois Ladies Football Co Board Treasurer Martina Phelan after the match.

SCORERS – Portlaoise: Leah Loughman 0-8, Shaunagh Dunne 1-3, Amy Byrne 1-0, Aoibhe O’Brien 0-2, Anna Healy 0-1, Jennifer O’Neill 0-1; Ballyroan: Aoife Delaney 3-0, Emily McWey 1-0, Kate Whelan 0-3, Rachel Fitzgerald 0-1 Leah Kelly 0-1

BALLYROAN: Lucia Mezzapelle; Caoimhe Delaney, Caoimhe Murphy, Sarah McMahon; Emily Mullhall, Emily McWey, Arrianna Mezzapelle; Andrea Moran, Leah Kelly; Amy Fitzpatrick, Rachel Fitzgerald, Ellen Donohue; Kate Whelan, Aoife Delaney, Ellen McWey. Subs: Roisin Fitzgerald, Jessica Brennan, Rachel Fitzpatrick.

PORTLAOISE: Aoife Hyland-Conlon; Karen O’Reilly, Sarah Fleming, Emma Dunne; Ciara Byrne, Kirsten Keenan, Anna Healy; Amy Byrne, Rebecca Keane; Aoibhe O’Brien, Jennifer O’Neill, Julia Cahill; Leah Loughman, Shauna Dooley,  Shaunagh Dunne.  Subs: Rebecca Reddin, Aine Seale,  Charlie Walsh, Keri McGuinness, Niamh McEvoy, Chloe Norton, Kayleigh Quirke, Abbey Dempsey, Alanah Doheny.

REFEREE: Michael Tarpey (Kilcavan)

The Ballyroan team that were beaten in the ladies minor football final by Portlaoise
Some of the Portlaoise players celebrate after winning the Laois ladies minor football final on Sunday

SEE ALSO – Moment in Time: Robert Sheehan lands his first major role back in 2003