Home Sport Soccer Extra time needed in two local derbies in CCFL Paddy Cotter Cup

Extra time needed in two local derbies in CCFL Paddy Cotter Cup

There was incredible drama in the Lawn in Stradbally this morning as Stradbally Town got the better of Portlaoise Shamrocks in the opening round of the Paddy Cotter Cup.

Danny Kelly was the Stradbally hero with his extra time goal – his second of the game – helping his side to a 4-3 win. Damien Murphy and Derek O’Gorman got the other two in a game that saw Stradbally go 2-0 up, then 3-2 down only for Kelly to get the equaliser with the last kick of the game and then strike for the extra time winner.

Ger McInerney, Keith Bray and Sean Brown all struck for Portlaoise with Stephen O’Loughlin, Aaron Young and Mark Doocey all impressing in what was a really good game.

Conor Brady and Alan Delaney stood out for Stradbally as well as the goalscorers.

Rosenallis also needed extra time to beat Rosenallis 2-0 in the same competition while Towerhill Rovers also advanced thanks to a 5-1 win away to Moate. There was disappointment for Clonaslee who were beaten 1-0 by Clonown.

Two goals from the evergreen Mick O’Brien and one from Jason McDowell helped St Aengus to a 3-1 win over Maryborough in Division 3 of the CCFL. Rosenallis and Abbeyleix drew 2-2 in Division 4 while Mountmellick were beaten by Dublin side Loughshinny in the Leinster Junior Shield.

There was also Laois teams in action in the Kilkenny and Carlow soccer leagues.

In the Carlow Premier Division, Crettyard Utd cruised to 6-0 victory over St Fiacc’s FC as they keep the chase on league leaders Hannover who had a 4-2 victory against Celtic Stars. St. Pat’s Boys and Killeshin FC had comfortable victories winning 3-0 and 2-0 respectfully.

Meanwhile in the the Kilkenny Division 1, Lions AFC lost out to Freebooters AFC B on the scoreline of 4-1 at home. Lee Campion grabbed their only goal, which means they lose ground on Freebooters AFC who go top for the time being.

O’Neills LFA Junior Shield First Round
Mountmellick Celtic 1 Loughshinny United 3

O’Neill’s LFA Junior Shield Second Round
Geashill AFC 1 Bush Celtic 0
Raharney Utd 3 Pioneers FC 2
Banagher United 3 New Ross Celtic2

CCFL Paddy Cotter Cup 1st Round
Clara Town A 4 Mulliingar Town 3
Portarlington Town 0 Rosenallis AFC 2 – after extra time
Stradbally Town 4 Portlaoise Shamrocks 3 – after extra time
Clonaslee Utd 0 Clonown Rovers 1
Ballinahown 3 Gentex FC 1
Horseleap Utd 1 Tullamore Town 3
Moate Celtic 1 Towerhill Rovers 5
Mullingar Athletic 1 Highfield Utd 3

CCFL Division 3
St Carthage’s Athletic 5 Ballinagar 0
Maryborough 1 St Aengus 3
Monksland Utd B 0 BBC Utd 2

CCFL Division 4
Cloneygowan Celtic 4 Kenagh Utd 1
St Cormacs Athletic 0 Ballinahown B 8
Rosenallis B 4 Abbeyleix Athletic 2

CCFL Womens Division
Killeigh B 0 Willow Park 6
Mullingar Athletic B 0 Killeigh A 7

Carlow Premier Division
Hanover Harps 4 Celtic Stars 2
St Patrick’s Boys 2 Ballymurphy Utd 0
St Fiacc’s FC 0 Crettyard Utd 6
Killeshin FC 3 Parkville Utd 0

Kilkenny Division 1
Lions 1 Freebooters 4

SEE ALSO – Host of new faces join Laois hurling squad for 2018