Home Sport GAA Colaiste Iosagain win all-Laois battle to top South Leinster group

Colaiste Iosagain win all-Laois battle to top South Leinster group

The Colaiste Iosagain team which defeated Portlaoise CBS this afternoon

Colaiste Iosagain 0-9 Portlaoise CBS 0-6

Top Oil South Leinster ‘B’ Football Championship Round 3

Both teams had already qualified for the semi finals before a ball was thrown in today but it was pride that was at stake in this all-Laois affair.

Colaiste Iosagain went into the match top of the group on points difference but emerged from the tie as group winners following a three point win.

This was an intense game with few scores, and the lack of them was largely down to the gale force wind which blew across the pitch throughout strengthening all the time.

Iosagáin were first out of the blocks when Mark Barry slotted a free but wing back Jack Langton had the sides level a minute later after curling one over finally a fine run up the wing.

Matthew Byron kicked Colaiste Iosagain back in front in the fourth minute and the gap was two by the sixth after Barry split the posts from a tight angle following a fine run.

But we were level by the midpoint of the half when The Heath’s PJ Daly slammed over two difficult frees after he judged the wind to perfection.

Portlaoise’s luck in front of goal deserted them though for the remainder of the half as they hit the post twice before half time, and six times in total.

Matthew Byron and Tom Kelly had no trouble down the other end as they both pointed before Mark Barry ended the first period with a brace of frees to leave it 0-7 to 0-3 at the interval.

Jake Nicholl, on as a half time substitute, extended Iosagáin’s lead to five point with the first action of the new half but we would have to wait almost 15 minutes for the next score.

It came from the CBS’ Neil Keane and was quickly followed by another from Jason Maher to cut the gap to three points.

The CBS knew they needed a goal and they almost had it when Dean Brophy released Cian Houlihan but his low shot was deflected out for a 45 by Adam Kirwan.

And then, with a minute to, Iosagain got up the field for a crucial score as wing back Colin Slevin popped up for his customary point.

The CBS continued to throw bodies forward and a Jack Langton ball was punched over the bar by PJ Daly from the edge of the square to leave three in it once more.

But there was time for no more as Iosagain were the winners.

Both teams will be away in the semi finals. It is looking like Portlaoise CBS are on the road to Wexford to face Bunclody while Colaiste Iosagáin’s journey is less clear.

They will play the winners of Kilcock and Enniscorthy with the semi finals due to take place in around two weeks time.

SCORERS – COLAISTE IOSAGAIN: Mark Barry 0-4 (0-3 frees), Matthew Byron 0-2, Tom Kelly, Colin Slevin and Jake Nicholl 0-1 each PORTLAOISE CBS: PJ Daly 0-3 (0-2 frees), Jack Langton, Neil Keane and Jason Maher 0-1 each

COLAISTE IOSAGAIN: Michael Cunningham (Bracknagh); Anthony Murphy (Gracefield), Adam Kirwan (Portarlington), Andrew Flynn (Courtwood); Cathal Bennett (Portarlington), Glen Hassett (Raheen), Colin Slevin (Portarlington); Niall Gorman (Emo), Seán Michael Corcoran (Portarlington); Paddy Hurley (Gracefield), Mark Barry (O’Dempsey’s), Tom Kelly (O’Dempsey’s); Caoimhghin Murphy (Gracefield), Matthew Byron (Courtwood), Oisin Murphy (Walsh Island). Subs: Barry Howlin (O’Dempsey’s) for C Murphy (ht), Jake Nichol (Gracefield) for Kelly (ht), Oisin O’Dea (Gracefield) for A Murphy (50mins)

PORTLAOISE CBS: Damon Larkin (Portlaoise); Willie Reilly (Ballyfin), Gary Saunders (Portlaoise), Dylan Kavanagh (The Heath); Jack Langton (Stradbally), Mikey Dowling (Portlaoise), Eoin O’Connor (Portlaoise); Andrew Swayne (Portlaoise), PJ Daly (The Heath); Niall Carey (Portlaoise), Dean Brophy (St Joseph’s), Neil Keane (The Heath); Jason Maher (Portlaoise), Cian Houlihan (Portlaoise), Ben Conroy (Portlaoise). Subs: Eamonn Delaney (Stradbally) for Saunders (32mins, inj), Liam Kinsella (The Heath) for Conroy (36mins), Kilian Mcgannon (Stradbally) for Swayne (40mins), Conor Booth (The Heath) for Brophy (55mins), Gareth O’Brien (The Heath) for Carey (57mins, inj)

Referee: Darren Bracken (Portarlington)

SEE ALSO – Ballyfin on hunt for new manager as The Harps swoop for Deegan