Home Sport GAA Defeat for Mountrath CS as senior hurling campaign ends

Defeat for Mountrath CS as senior hurling campaign ends

Mountrath Community School who lost out yesterday
Mountrath Community School who lost out yesterday

Mountrath CS 1-7 St Mary’s CBS Enniscorthy 2-9

Top Oil Leinster Post Primary School Senior Hurling ‘B’ Quarter Final

Mountrath’s Senior ‘B’ hurling campaign came to an end on Tuesday afternoon as they went down in Wexford.

In blustery conditions, St Mary’s CBS just got the better of the Laois side.

Mountrath operated with a two man inside full forward line as captain John Maher, who wore number 15, came back around midfield in an effort to get on ball.

They grabbed the first point of the game but they were hit for six when an Enniscorthy shot from long range landed in the net.

Three more points came for the Wexford side but Mountrath battled back and they were level by half time.

Neat neat move involving Mikey Doran ended with Mountrath’s Dylan Russell smashing the sliotar to the net to leave it 1-4 apiece at the break.

The Wexford side had the wind now in the second half and they reeled off four early frees – indeed seven points from their total of 2-9 came from placed balls.

But once again Mountrath came back and drew to within four points before a swift move involving Liam Delaney and Joe Phelan resulted in the ball coming to Dylan Russell who was just hooked as he looked certain to score a second goal.

Enniscorthy went down the other end and got the insurance point before holding on to win.

But this has been a positive year for Mountrath and with a number of them available next year, they will give the championship another go then.

MOUNTRATH CS: Adam Kirwan (Trumera); Bryan Bredin (Mountrath), Enda Parlon (Borris-Kilcotton), Ben Shore (Castletown-Slieve Bloom); Daire Tobin (Castletown-Slieve Bloom), Eoin Dowling (Camross), Orri Phelan (Camross); Liam Delaney (Camross), Robbie Delaney (Camross); Danny Flanagan (Kinnity), Mikey Doran (Camross), Aaron Gaughan (Castletown-Slieve Bloom); Joe Phelan (Castletown-Slieve Bloom), Dylan Russell (Mountrath), John Maher (Rosenallis). Subs: Tadhg Cuddy (Castletown-Slieve Bloom) for Gaughan

SEE ALSO – Urgent flood defence work to begin in Mountmellick

Previous articleWATCH: Laois star bags 1-6 as UCD get Sigerson Cup campaign off to a flyer
Next articleJOB VACANCIES: Busy Portlaoise Restaurant are Recruiting!
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.