Home Sport GAA Clonaslee College defeated in South Leinster decider

Clonaslee College defeated in South Leinster decider

The Clonaslee College team

Clonaslee College 1-5 St Farnan’s Prosperous 4-11

Top Oil South Leinster Schools Senior Footballl ‘D’ Championship Final

Clonaslee College’s quest for South Leinster glory was ended this afternoon as they went down in Ballykelly.

Their opponents, St Farnan’s Prosperous, started slowly but the Kildare outfit had too much firepower for the Clonaslee side and that told in the end.

There would be 15 points between the teams by the full time whistle and Clonaslee could have no complaints.

It all started so well for the Laois based school as some good early pressure saw the ball fall to Adam Daly who slammed it into the bottom corner of the net.

A brace of points from Eoin Bagnall though, and another from Lorcan Behan had Prosperous level by the tenth minute.

Ryan Kilroe kicked Clonaslee back ahead a minute later but that would be the last time they would hold the advantage in the affair.

Billy Maher drew Prosperous level and they were ahead for the first time by the midpoint of the half thanks to Lorcan Behan after a fine run by Emmet Donohue.

The gap was six as we entered the final ten minutes of the half as Eoin Dempsey and Emmet Donohue split the posts for Prosperous.

Rosenallis midfielder Eoin Dunne cut the gap to four with two well taken frees but the half had a sting in its tail for the Laois school as Eoin Dempsey’s late goal sent Prosperous into the dressing rooms leading 2-7 to 1-3 at half time.

Ryan Kilroe tried to spark a revival for Clonaslee with his second point of the game on the resumption of play but it would be short lived.

Prosperous went straight down the other end and a high ball into the square was won by Emmet Donohue who punched it into the net.

Billy White, Eoin Bagnall and Mark Byrne all raised white flags for Prosperous after that to move them 12 clear as we entered the final quarter.

Seán Condon got Clonaslee’s final point but Prosperous weren’t finished and, after Bagnall helped himself to his fourth point, Billy White smashed home their fourth goal to seal the win in style.

SCORERS – CLONASLEE COLLEGE: Adam Daly 1-0, Ryan Kilroe and Eoin Dunne (frees) 0-2 each, Sean Condon 0-1 PROSPEROUS: Billy Maher and Eoin Dempsey 1-2 each, Eoin Bagnall 0-4 (0-3 frees), Lorcan Behan and Emmet Donohue 1-1 each, Mark Byrne 0-1

CLONASLEE COLLEGE: Barry Kelly (Clonaslee-St Manman’s); Oisin Murray (Clonaslee-St Manman’s), Donnagh Callally (Rosenallis), Leon Stafford (Clonaslee-St Manman’s); Shay Foynes (Clonaslee-St Manman’s), Shane Farrell (Rosenallis), Conor Cosgrove (Rosenallis); Eoin Dunne (Rosenallis), Jack Owens (Clonaslee-St Manman’s); Adam Daly (Clonaslee-St Manman’s), Sean Condon (Clonaslee-St Manman’s), DJ Callaghan (Clonaslee-St Manman’s); Seán Dunne (Clonaslee-St Manman’s), Ryan Kilroe (Clonaslee-St Manman’s), Jack Friel (Rosenallis) Subs: Ciaran Fitzgerald (Clonaslee-St Manman’s) for Foynes (26mins, inj), Robert Downey (Clonaslee-St Manman’s) for Dunne (33mins), Oisin Keating (Rosenallis) for Daly (41mins)

PROSPEROUS: Luke Anderson; Padraic Hanley, Ollie Hegarty, Craig Lenehan; Jason Wyse, Mark Byrne, Darren Judge; PJ Ewing, Cillian Maders; Eoghan Dempsey, Billy Maher, Lorcan Behan; Emmet Donohue, Conor Hanley, Eoin Bagnall. Subs: Brian Kennedy for Donohue (55mins), Liam Dempsey for Bagnall (57mins), Kevin Campbell for Dempsey (57mins), Colm Moran for Hanley

SEE ALSO – Mountrath reach South Leinster football final with win over Dunlavin