Home Sport GAA Laois hurling team named for crunch clash with Dublin

Laois hurling team named for crunch clash with Dublin

Join us for the final three games of the SFC Round 1

Eamonn Kelly has named his Laois senior hurling team to take on Dublin in Sunday’s must-win Allianz Hurling League Division 1B game in O’Moore Park.

A win for Laois would mean they’d avoid a relegation play-off game away to Antrim and also book a league quarter-final place against the top side in Division 1A.

Joe Phelan, last year’s senior club player of the year and captain of Camross’s championship winning side, comes in at corner-back in place of Donnacha Hartnett while Rathdowney-Errill’s Mark Kavanagh is named to start at corner-forward instead of Ciaran Comerford.

Kavanagh has come in all the previous games but is due to make his first start, the same as Phelan.

Other than those two changes the side remains the same as the one that was beaten by Offaly two weeks ago.

Dublin have endured a difficult start under new manager Pat Gilroy, losing heavily to Offaly in the opening game as well as going down to Galway and Limerick.

Like Laois, their only win to date was against Antrim, but they are favourites to win on Sunday at a price of 3/10. Laois are 3/1 with the draw at 11/1. The loser of Sunday’s game will be away to Antrim a week later with the loser of that game then relegated to Division 2A for 2019.

They have made two changes to their side from the one beaten by Galway the last day out.

The game throws in at 2.30pm in O’Moore Park and we’ll be live blogging the action – as well as from the Division 4 football game in Ruislip between Laois and London.

LAOIS: Enda Rowland (Abbeyleix); Joe Phelan (Camross), Leigh Bergin (Shanahoe), Lee Cleere (Clough-Ballacolla); Podge Lawlor (Ballinakill), Matthew Whelan (Borris-Kilcotton), Eric Killeen (Rathdowney-Errill); James Ryan (Rathdowney-Errill), Paddy Purcell (Rathdowney-Errill); Ben Conroy (Slieve Bloom), Cha Dwyer (Ballinakill), Willie Dunphy (Clough-Ballacolla); Ross King (Rathdowney-Errill), Neil Foyle (Borris-Kilcotton), Mark Kavanagh (Rathdowney-Errill)

DUBLIN: Alan Nolan; Paddy Smyth, Bill O’Carroll, Eoghan O’Donnell; Shane Barrett, Chris Crummey, John McCaffrey; Tomas Connolly, Fiontan McGibb; Donal Burke, Conal Keaney, Danny Sutcliffe; Ronan Hayes, Ryan O’Dwyer, Paul Winters

SEE ALSO – Draws made for 2018 Laois hurling championships

Previous articleIn Pictures: Supporters from Crettyard, Killeshin, Clonaslee, Ballylinan and Stradbally in Dublin Airport on their way to support Laois in London
Next articleLeague leaders need last-minute goal to rescue draw against Portlaoise AFC
Steven Miller is owner and managing editor of LaoisToday.ie. From Laois, Steven studied Journalism in DCU and has 14 years experience in the media, almost 10 of those in an editorial role. Husband of Emily, father of William and Lillian, he's happiest when he's telling stories or kicking a point.