Home GAA Gaelic Football Conway kicks Arles-Kilcruise to winning start over Ballyroan-Abbey

Conway kicks Arles-Kilcruise to winning start over Ballyroan-Abbey

Arles-Kilcruise 1-10 Ballyroan-Abbey 1-8

Laois Shopping Centre ACFL Division 1B Round 1

Arles-Kilcruise got off to an ideal start in the league today with a two-point win over Ballyroan-Abbey.

David Conway opened the scoring with two points from play and one from a free in the first ten minutes.

Conway added another before Aaron Carroll put Ballyroan-Abbey on the board with Diarmuid Whelan converting a free for Padraig McMahon and Liam Irwin’s men.

Arles stepped up from there with Liam Whelan putting his name on the board with a goal and Conway scoring two more points, one from play and one from a free, to lead 1-6 to 0-3 after 25 minutes.

Arles-Kilcruise started the second half as they ended the first with Conway converted another free and point from play and was joined by Jason McLoughlin to go nine points in the lead – 1-9 to 0-3.

There were two goal chances denied cruelly for each side as Padge Conway hit the crossbar for Arles-Kilcruise and midlfielder Michael Brennan meeting the same fate for Ballyroan-Abbey in the second-half.

Ballyroan-Abbey comeback

But Ballyroan-Abbey weren’t going to go quietly. Michael Brennan got his goal and started what would be a rattling comeback for the Ballyroan-Abbey men. MJ Tierney and Caomhan Brennan then exchanged points to leave the sides on 1-10 to 1-4 a piece.

Tierney’s expertise landed two frees for Ballyroan-Abbey and he was joined on the scoreboard by teammates Whlean and substitute Paudie McDonald.

But Arles-Kilcruise managed to hold on for the Ballyroan-Abbey comeback and finish on their reduced lead, 1-10 to 1-8.

SCORERS – Arles-Kilcruise: Liam Whelan 1-0, David Conway 0-8 (0-3 frees), Jason McLoughlin 0-1, Caomhan Brennan 0-1

Ballyroan-Abbey: Michael Brennan 1-0, MJ Tierney 0-3 (0-2 frees), Diarmuid Whelan 0-3 (0-3 frees), Padraig McMahon 0-1, Paudie McDonald 0-1

ARLES-KILCRUISE: Colm Munnelly; Sean Meaney, Ciaran Lawlor, PJ Lawlor; JP Conway, Mikey Wall, Conal Brennan; Kevin Meaney, Stephen Miller; Jason McLoughlin, Fran Egan, Cialann Mulhall; Liam Whelan, David Conway, Padge Conway. Subs: Caomhan Brennan for Padge Conway (half-time), Brendan Conway for Sean Meaney (40 minutes), Kevin O’Neill for McLoughlin (45 minutes), John Michael McDonald for Whelan (50 minutes), Mark Wall for Brennan (58 minutes).

BALLYROAN-ABBEY: Andrew Bonham; Conor Brennan, Ruairi Dunne, Cian Moffitt; Aaron McEvoy, Padraig McMahon, Ciaran Carroll; Sean Murphy, Michael Brennan; Jamie Whelan, Liam Delaney, Colm Kinsella; Diarmuid Whelan, Scott Conroy, Mark McDonald. Subs: MJ Tierney for McDonald, Paudie McDonald for Kinsella.

SEE ALSO – Comhrá, craic agus dóchas at Portlaoise’s first Pop Up Gaeltacht

Previous articleLaois minor ladies lose out to superior Dubs
Next articleYour guide to Laois’s must win clash against Carlow in the sixth round of the Division 4
Siún Lennon joined LaoisToday in a full-time capacity after studying Journalism and New Media in the University of Limerick. She hails from Rosenallis and her interests vary from news, sports and politics.