Home Sport GAA Wins for St Joseph’s and The Heath in latest Division 1A action

Wins for St Joseph’s and The Heath in latest Division 1A action

St Joseph’s moved top of Division 1A of the league while The Heath are up to fourth following a dramatic night of action.

Here is a run down of both of these games.

St Joseph’s 2-11 Graiguecullen 2-4

Laois Shopping Centre ACFL Division 1A

St Joseph’s have gone top of Division 1A following a seven point win over Graiguecullen in Fr Maher Park tonight.

After last week’s draw with Ballylinan, this win, coupled with O’Dempsey’s slipping up against Stradbally, sees the Kellyville men go top while Graiguecullen remain rooted to the foot of the table.

The game opened with a goal for the legendary Tom Kelly for St Josephs after only five mins.

Graiguecullen returned the score a few mins later with a goal from Danny Aylesbury and a point from Jamie Parr followed shortly.

But St Joseph’s then took control of the game with points from Michael Keogh and Brian Daly from play to take a 1-6 to 1-2 lead by half time.

Jamie Parr opened the second half with another score but St. Joseph’s showed great control and team work with magnificent score from play by Brendan Hickey and points from Daly and Keogh to push further clear.

Mark Timmons popped up to score a goal for Graiguecullen late in the game but it wasn’t enough for the home side.

St. Joseph’s finished off a great display with another goal from substitute Jack Lacey and a point from Matty Campion to seal the win.

Next up for last year’s defeated finalists St Joseph’s is a home tie with 2016 winners The Heath.

While Graiguecullen will look to avoid a third successive defeat when they host O’Dempsey’s in a game also to be played on Thursday.

SCORERS – St Joseph’s: Tom Kelly 1-1, Jack Lacey 1-0, Michael Keogh and Brian Daly 0-3 each, Matty Campion 0-2, Brendan Hickey and Enda Butler 0-1 each Graiguecullen: Mark Timmons and Danny Aylesbury 1-0 each, Jamie Parr and Brian Byrne 0-2 each

ST JOSEPH’S: Dan Dunne; Aidan Brennan, Tom Dunne, Willie McDonald; Murtagh Condron, Cathal Fleming, Adam Campion; James Kelly, Matty Campion; Dean Brophy, Michael Keogh, Tom Kelly; Brian Daly, Brendan Hickey, Dylan Doyle. Subs: Jack Lacey for Condron, Peter Kealy for Doyle, Mikie Dempsey for Hickey, Enda Butler for McDonald

GRAIGUECULLEN: Ger Kiernan; Bobby Doyle, Mark Timmons, Liam Kearney; Chris Hurley, Jimmy Bolton, Martin Doyle; Shane O’Neill, Jamie Sheehan; Brian Byrne, James Doogue, Trevor Collins; Ross Hennessy, Jamie Parr, Danny Alsybury.

Referee: Clifford Ward (Portarlington)

The Heath 2-11 Ballylinan 1-4

The Heath are up to fourth in Division 1A following a seven point win over Ballylinan tonight.

After last week’s draw with St Joseph’s, Ballylinan would be hoping to build on that.

But it wasn’t to be as The Heath sealed a valuable win and left Ballylinan still searching for their first.

SEE ALSO – ‘Wan-tastic’ Stradbally claim second league win against the champions