Home Sport GAA In Pictures: Rathdowney-Errill Golf Classic a huge success

In Pictures: Rathdowney-Errill Golf Classic a huge success

Winning Team - M W Hire Group

The picturesque and immaculately prepared surroundings of Rathdowney Golf Course was the venue for the Annual Rathdowney-Errill GAA Club Golf Classic which took place on Friday/Saturday last.

A total of forty-five teams did battle, some travelling from as far away as Tramore, Clare, Dublin and Galway raising much needed funds towards the future development and promotion of hurling in the Rathdowney-Errill Parish.

After an exciting two days play it was the MW Hire Group team of Mattie Walsh, Billy Fitzpatrick, JJ Tobin and Joe Costello who claimed the top prize in Category 1.

The Tynan brothers, Liam and Mark, along with the Jones boys, Robert and Emmett, were a match for all comers in Category 2 while Liam with a stunning drive down the 18th, also managed to take home the Men’s longest drive prize.

Other prizes were hotly contested on the day with Patrick Whelan clinching the Nearest to the Pin prize and Kathleen Guilfoyle winning the Ladies Long Drive.

There were also plenty of teams made up from non-regular golfers, some showing a natural ability for the game, with the winning prize going to Brian “BB” Bowe, David McKelvey, Brian Campion and Jimmy Corrigan.

In conjunction with the Classic a raffle took place in which the star prize was for two nights accommodation in Lyrath House. The lucky winner was Arlene Cleere from Errill.

The club would like to extend a special thanks to Lorcan Dunne, Joe Fitzpatrick and Michael Munroe and Rathdowney Golf Club who couldn’t have been more helpful in both the build up to the event and on the day itself.

Once again on behalf of the club, they would also like to take this opportunity to thank their main sponsor “Flynn’s Medical Hall” and all the other companies and individuals for making the event such a wonderful occasion.

See all the pictures from the days below:

Main Sponsor Howard and Caroline Coburn with Tim Barry, Timmy Williams and Michael Cleere
Main Sponsor Caroline and Howard Coburn Flynn’s Medical Hall with Tim Barry, Timmy Williams and Michael Cleere
Liam Tynan in action
Timmy Williams and friends David O’Reily, Pierce Walsh, Donal O’Brien
Brigid Maher, Paddy Maher, Kathleen Guilfoyle, Peggy Hennessy
From Clare – Kevin Wallis, Martin Breen, Des Crosbie, Brian, Muldoon
Dave McKelvey, Brian Bowe, Brian Campion, Jimmy Corrigan

Tullaroan’s finest Dick Walshe, Tom Doheny, Ed Carter, Liam Mahoney

Willie Ryan Kieran Finane Jim Gray James Gilmartin
Winning Team – M W Hire Group

SEE ALSO – Ticket information announced for Laois’s Leinster final clash with Dublin