Home Sport GAA Laois minor football team named for Leinster semi-final clash with Meath

Laois minor football team named for Leinster semi-final clash with Meath

Niall Carey for the Laois minors - Photo Paul Daragn

The Laois minor footballers host Meath in O’Moore Park on Saturday and they have made five changes to their team from the side which lost to Kildare in their final group game.

Donncha Phelan’s charges were lift in limbo when they lost to the Lillywhites by 5-10 to 1-6 in Newbridge ten days ago.

They sat second in the group but had played all of their games while Longford, who were back in third and could still catch Laois, needed to defeat Kildare in their final game.

That took place on Tuesday and although the sides were level as we entered the final quarter, Kildare pulled away to win and this meant Laois finished second.

Meath topped the other group but due to a home and away agreement between the counties which saw Laois travel to Navan last years means the game will be in Portlaoise.

Anyway, ahead of Saturday’s game, manager Donncha Phelan has made a number of changes – both in personnel and positional.

The first change sees Emo’s Oisin Keogh replace Ballylinan’s Tom Wright in the goal.

Courtwood’s Seth Burns drops out of the starting team with Ballyroan-Abbey’s Ciaran Byrne moving to wing back and captain Seán O’Neill switching from wing forward to corner back.

His place on the half forward line goes to Stradbally’s Conor Goode and there is also a change at centre forward with Portarlington’s Rioghan Murphy replacing Portlaoise’s Damon Larkin.

Meanwhile, the final two changes come in the full forward line. Timahoe’s Mark O’Connell, who replaced St Joseph’s Seamus Farrelly at half time against Kildare, holds onto his place.

While there is a recall for Arles-Killeen’s Oisin Byrne who comes into the team instead of Ballyroan-Abbey’s Cathal Doyle.

The game throws in at 12pm on Saturday in O’Moore Park and LaoisToday will bring you all the action as it happens:

LAOIS: Oisin Keogh (Emo); Seán Greene (Emo), Mikey Bennett (Portarlington), Seán O’Neill (The Rock); Niall Carey (Portlaoise), Cathal Bennett (Portarlington), Ciaran Byrne (Ballyroan-Abbey); Seán Michael Corcoran (Portarlington), Ben Conroy (Portlaoise); Conor Goode (Stradbally), Rioghan Murphy (Portarlington), Daragh Galvin (Portarlington); Ross Bolger (Killeshin), Oisin Byrne (Arles-Killeen), Mark O’Connell (Timahoe)

SEE ALSO – Meet the man driving Laois on to the qualifiers

Previous articleTimbersport team to demo new lightweight chainsaw
Next articleSlieve Bloom fire now out as last firefighters leave
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.