Home Sport GAA Carroll pops up with the winner as The Rock deny Barrowhouse

Carroll pops up with the winner as The Rock deny Barrowhouse

Brought to you in association with the Midlands Park Hotel

The Rock 0-12 Barrowhouse 2-5
Laois Shopping Centre IFC Round 1

The Rock withstood a late rally from Barrowhouse in Stradbally this evening to book their place in the Round 2 winners section of the Laois IFC next weekend.

This game was delayed by a week due to a death in Barrowhouse last week and The Rock raced into a big early lead. Barrowhouse battled back well and two second-half goals had them in the lead heading into the final ten minutes only for The Rock to hold their nerve and pull through.

Shane O’Connell and Martin Murphy swapped points early but before two from Aaron Dowling nudged The Rock two clear.

Fergal Murphy pulled one back for Barrowhouse but The Rock hit the next five in a row – two fine efforts from Stephen McDonald, two from Dowling and one from lively wing-back Anavil Storey. At half time they led 0-8 to 0-2.

Fergal Murphy got Barrowhouse off the mark early in the second half and although Dowling and Stephen McDonald hit back for The Rock, Barrowhouse hit a rich vein of form.

Brian ‘Bugsy’ Malone re-ignited the comeback, hitting two points in quick succession and then bravely helped win possession from a kickout – clattering into a Rock player in the process – in a move that led to Fergal Murphy getting in for their first goal.

A couple of minutes later, James Baldwin had a second goal. All of a sudden Barrowhouse were in the lead.

But Dowling levelled things up and sub Kieran Carroll popped up with the winner as the game went into injury time.

The Rock missed a couple of goal chances to wrap it up while Barrowhouse missed a late free to make a draw of it as tempers flared on more than one occasion.

The Rock will now play Rosenallis in Round 2 next weekend. Barrowhouse will play Mountmellick in the losers section.

SCORERS – The Rock: Aaron Dowling 0-6 (four frees), Stephen McDonald 0-3 (one free), Shane O’Connell 0-1, Anavil Storey 0-1, Kieran Carroll 0-1. Barrowhouse: Fergal Murphy 1-2, James Baldwin 1-0, Brian Malone 0-2, Martin Murphy 0-1

THE ROCK: Cormac Joyce; Robert Byrne, Brendan Murphy, Kieran Conroy; Anavil Storey, Conor Flynn, Brian Conlon; Philip Peake, Danny McRedmond; Paul Allen, Shane O’Connell, Aaron Dowling; Stephen McDonald, James McDonald, Tom McDonald. Subs: Fionn Kirwan for McRedmond, Ciaran Carroll for Allen, Stephen Conlon for T McDonald, Wes Bergin for S McDonald

BARROWHOUSE: Darragh Phelan; Thomas McDonald, Thomas Page, James Brennan; Andrew Baldwin, Joe Murphy, Denis Brophy; Emmet Malone, Luke Malone; James Baldwin, Sean Langton, Brian Malone; Neil O’Shaughnessy, Martin Murphy, Fergal Murphy. Subs: Michael Langton for L Malone, Padraig Whelan for S Langton

This article was edited to acknowledge that Kieran Carroll and not Fionn Kirwan got the winning point for The Rock. 

SEE ALSO – Eight young players to watch out for in the intermediate football championship

Previous articleSlieve Bloom book semi-final place thanks to win over Camross
Next articleClonaslee claim second win as they put Portlaoise to the sword