Home News Education Knockbeg College and Clonaslee College students excel as results revealed

Knockbeg College and Clonaslee College students excel as results revealed

Knockbeg College students with their results

Laois pupils at both ends of the county were celebrating this morning.

Students on the Carlow and Offaly borders received their Leaving Cert results in Knockbeg College and Clonaslee College respectively.

Results were in Clonaslee were reported to be ‘excellent’ and all students were very happy.

One in every three of the Clonaslee students exceeded 400 points.

In Knockbeg College. a total of 59 students sat the exams in June with principal Mike Carew revealing that 10 per cent of them received 500 points or more.

He said: “It was a different year for our students this year with the renovation works taking place, they sat the exams in St Patrick’s College.

“And I have to say a big thank you to them. It was very important that the lads had the best possible chance to do well – and the noise associated with the ongoing construction would not have helped.

“We’re generally very happy with the results across the board. As always, the lads who applied themselves and worked hard achieved what they wanted.

“It is a very stressful time for pupils and their parents during the exams and today brings that period to an end.

“The opportunities available to the lads now are endless. The Leaving Cert does not define you anymore and there are many avenues to get to where you want to go.”

SEE ALSO – Mountrath CS student achieves maximum 625 points in Leaving Cert

Previous articleTHREE Laois students hit the incredible 625 points mark
Next articleIn Pictures: Portlaoise College students receive Leaving Cert results
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.