Home We Are Laois Remember the Game Remember The Game: Ballylinan-Glenmore edge out Stradbally Parish Gaels in 2004 MFC...

Remember The Game: Ballylinan-Glenmore edge out Stradbally Parish Gaels in 2004 MFC final

Ballylinan-Glenmore 0-8 Stradbally Parish Gaels 0-6
Laois Minor ‘A’ Football Championship Final 2004

Ballylinan-Glenmore ground out a two point win over Stradbally Parish Gaels to claim the 2004 MFC 14 years ago.

The victors, who were made up of Arles-Kilcruise, Arles-Killeen and Ballylinan, led from almost start to finish against the Gaels of Stradbally, Annanough and Timahoe.

Donie Brennan was their captain on the day and although he only kicked one of their points, he, along with David Conway and Sean O’Shea were the catalysts for the win.

Alan Delaney gave the Gaels the lead after a minute but Ballylinan Glenmore quickly got on top and took a 0-6 to 0-2 lead into the half time break.

David Conway, Richie Ryan, Sean O’Shea, Brennan and Conor Ashe all pointed while Brian Mortimer landed the Gaels’ only other score of the first half.

Mark Wall extended their lead on the resumption of play but they went scoreless for the next twenty minutes as the Gaels mounted a comeback.

Sean Ramsbottom and Delaney kicked the Gaels back to within one but Sean O’Shea’s second point put the gap back out to two as the clock ticked towards full time.

The Gaels pushed for the goal they needed for victory but Ballylinan Glenmore ended their eight year wait for success at this level.

SCORERS – BALLYLINAN-GLENMORE: Sean O’Shea and David Conway 0-2 each, Donie Brennan, Richie Ryan, Conor Ashe and Mark Wall 0-1 STRADBALLY PARISH GAELS: Sean Ramsbottom 0-3, Alan Delaney 0-2, Brian Mortimer 0-1

BALLYLINAN-GLENMORE: Stephen Miller; Colm Munnelly, Michael Wall, Joe Mulhare; Rory Stynes, Dermot Julian, John Keogh; Richie Ryan, Conor Ashe; Brendan O’Shea, David Conway, Sean O’Shea; Donie Brennan, Brendan Kealy, Mark Wall. Subs: Jim McDonald, Tom McWey

STRADBALLY PARISH GAELS: Eoin Culleton; Colin Beale, Stephen Lawlow, Pierce Bennett; Marcus Shortall, Colm Begley, Simon Shortall; Darren Maher, Brendan Quigley; Diarmuid Kennelly, Brian Mortimer, Sean Ramsbottom; Michael Kelly, Alan Delaney, Danny Carroll. Subs: Marty Stapleton, Michael McEvoy

Referee: Eddie Whelan (Killeshin)

SEE ALSO – Serious style as the Laois lads take over the All-Star Awards

Previous articleLeinster success in 1996 a stand out Camross memory as current generation look to make their mark in provincial campaign
Next articleGood Week, Bad Week: History Trips, Halloween fun and ticket fraudsters
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.