Home Sport GAA Wexford champions show their class as Camross bow out of Leinster club

Wexford champions show their class as Camross bow out of Leinster club

Mark Dowling Camross

Naomh Eanna (Wexford) 3-18 Camross 2-16
Leinster Club SHC quarter-final

Camross’s interest in this year’s Leinster club championship ended at the first hurdle as they were beaten by Wexford champions Naomh Eanna of Gorey this afternoon in O’Moore Park.

Coming off the back of a 26th Laois SHC title but with a month of controversy following the fallout from that game, Camross made a dream start.

Inspired by Zane Keenan and with fine points from Ciaran Collier and Mark Dowling they led by 0-5 to 0-1 after just seven minutes and though David O’Brien pulled a goal back for Naomh Eanna in the 11th minute after a brilliant from Wexford star Conor McDonald, Keenan responded almost immediately when he fired a close range free to the net.

Darrell Dooley, the man at the centre of the controversy, didn’t start – his place taken by Dwane Palmer who was making his first start since last year’s county final.

Keenan added a free moments later but that was as good as it would get for Camross as the Gorey side soon made their class tell, even if Camross were unlucky not to have a second goal – Barry Kinsella pulling off a brilliant save on Dean Delaney.

They outscored Camross by 2-8 to 0-2 coming up to half time – O’Brien getting another goal, this time after a pass from former Knockbeg student Padraig Doyle, and and an absolute screamer from McDonald.

Charlie McGuckin, Padraig Doyle and Darragh Hughes all pointed with Niall Holmes and Keenan getting Camross’s only scores in that period.

At half time Naomh Eanna led 3-10 to 0-8 and the gap could have been more as the Camross defence came under massive pressure as the half wore on.

Camross battled on well in the second half but a goal from sub Oisin Bennett came too late to make a difference and Naomh Eanna booked a semi-final place with Ballyhale Shamrocks in two weeks time.

SCORERS – Naomh Eanna: Padraig Doyle 0-9 (five frees, one ’65), David O’Brien 2-2, Conor McDonald 1-1, Darragh Hughes 0-3 (two frees), Charlie McGuckin 0-2, Gary Molloy 0-1. Camross: Zane Keenan 1-8 (1-7 frees, 0-1 ’65), Oisin Bennett 1-1, Niall Holmes 0-3 (one free), Ciaran Collier 0-1, Mark Dowling 0-1, Liam Delaney 0-1

CAMROSS: Thomas Dunphy; Andrew Mortimer, Malvin Moloney, Joe Phelan; Lorcan Burke, Andrew Collier, Dwane Palmer; Matthew Collier, Tomas Burke; Ciaran Collier, Zane Keenan, Niall Holmes; Mark Dowling, Dean Delaney, Eoin Gaughan. Subs: Oisin Bennet for Delaney (35), Liam Delaney for M Collier (48), Gearoid Burke for T Burke (49), Darren Gilmartin for Dowling (55)

NAOMH EANNA: Barry Kinsella; Tom Stafford, Brendan Travers, Lee Kinsella; Jack Cullen, Sean Doyle, Eoin Conroy; Aodhan Doyle, Gary Molloy; Charlie McGuckin, Padraig Doyle, Darragh Hughes; David O’Brien, Conor McDonald, William Cullen. Subs: Jack Cushe for Cullen (44), Conor Hughes for O’Brien (48)

REFEREE: Sean Cleere (Kilkenny)

SEE ALSO – Remembering the Camross team that conquered Leinster in 1996