Home We Are Laois Remember the Game Remember The Game: How Trumera almost won a Leinster title in 2004

Remember The Game: How Trumera almost won a Leinster title in 2004

Trumera 0-8 Galmoy 0-14
‘Leinster Junior Hurling Championship Final’

A Trumera comeback came too late as they crashed out of the All-Ireland series losing out to Kilkenny champions Galmoy in the Leinster Junior Final 14 years ago.

Trumera showed great fight in the last ten minutes with Joey Coogan slotting over two frees and a point from play from Declan Callaghan.

Time was running out for Trumera despite reducing the deficit to five points but it was shortly increased to six as Galmoy ended Trumera’s late comeback.

Despite all the hard work that Trumera’s defence got through they found it difficult to deal with Galmoys tricky forwards.

A fantastic free-taking display from Galmoy forward Martin Phelan gave the Kilkenny champions a huge advantage by scoring seven frees.

Galmoy built a good lead early on in the game and were always out of arms reach of Trumera throughout the game.

Trumera captain John O’Connor didn’t have the day he would have hoped for as Galmoy ran out Leinster Junior champions in a very entertaining final in Freshford.

It is testament to the longevity of the Trumera lads that a high number of them that played in this game – are still playing 14 years later.

John O’Connor, Ronan Kavanagh, Paddy Coogan, Cathal Brophy, Damien Lalor, Eddie O’Connor, Declan Callaghan, Fintan Callaghan, Joey Coogan and Paul McSpadden all hurled for their club in the Senior A championship this year.

And we know the majority of them will go again next year.

Check out some brilliant Alf Harvey pictures from the game below:

SCORERS – TRUMERA: Joey Coogan 0-6 (four frees), John O’Connor and Declan Callaghan 0-1 each GALMOY: Martin Phelan 0-7 (all frees), Alan Gray and Phil Russell 0-3 each, Noel Doherty 0-1

Trumera: Diarmuid Hosey; Bosco Lalor, John O’Connor, Ronan Kavanagh; Paddy Coogan, Patrick Kirwan, Adrian Lalor; Cathal Brophy, Damien Lalor; Eddie O’ Connor, Declan Callaghan, Ciaran O’Neill; Fintan Callaghan, Joseph Coogan, Paul McSpadden. Subs: Fintan Lalor for Fintan Callaghan (38 mins), Michael Callaghan for Paul McSpadden (46 mins)

Galmoy: Liam Drennan; Phil Doyle, Brian Lonergan, Cathal Doherty; Leo Doherty, Paul Delaney, Brendan Quigley; Brian Doherty, David Doyle; Alan Gray (0-3), Martin Phelan (0-7, all frees), Noel Doherty (0-1); Phil Russell (0-3), Kevin Lonergan, Phil Brennan. Subs: Donnacha Gray for Leo Doherty (20 mins), Padraig Gray for Donnacha Gray (46 mins)

Referee: James Owens (Wexford)

SEE ALSO – In Pictures: Six Laois students receive awards for excellent Leaving Cert results in Trinity College