Home Sport GAA Laois Ladies name youthful panel for 2019 campaign

Laois Ladies name youthful panel for 2019 campaign

The Laois Ladies have named their panel for the upcoming season and it has a real youthful look about it.

Kildare native and manager David Gibson has announced a 34-player panel for their Division 2 campaign which begins against Armagh in less than two weeks.

Eleven clubs are represented in total with St Conleth’s providing eight players.

St Brigid’s and Portlaoise come next with four while senior county champions from Sarsfields, Timahoe, Park-Ratheniska and junior champions St Paul’s have three each.

The remaining players come from from Shanahoe (2), Ballyroan (2), Ballyfin (1) and Foxrock-Cabinteely (1) in Dublim. 

From the Laois team that won the Leinster intermediate title last summer, there are a number of absentees. 

Five of the six backs who started that day are all no longer involved. Sisters Alison and Jenny McEvoy and their Sarsfields clubmate Ciara Hughes are all gone from the full back line while centre back Mags McEvoy has retired. 

Laois player of the Year for 2018 Amy Potts, who was wing back in the win over Wicklow, is also absent as she recovers from ACL surgery. 

Meanwhile, Sarsfields duo Ciara Burke (emigrated to Australia) and Clare Conlon (injured) are also not part of the panel.

David Gibson assumes charge of the team this year and he will be assisted by Stephen Duff (Ballyfin) and Teddy McCormack (Portlaoise) as selectors.

Portlaoise’s Danny O’Shea will be the trainer while Timahoe’s Linda Hooban will be the female liason officer. 

The Panel is full is as follows:

Jane Moore – St. Brigids
Aisling Leacy – St. Brigids
Maeve Phelan – St. Brigids
Caoimhe Simms – St. Brigids
Joyce Dunne – Sarsfields
Meaghan Dunne – Sarsfields
Laura Peake – Sarsfields
Ellen Healy – Portlaoise
Aisling Kehoe – Portlaoise
Aoife Conlon Hyland – Portlaoise
Grainne Moran – Portlaoise
Laura Nerney – Foxrock- Cabinteely
Niamh O’Rourke – Ballyfin
Andrea Moran – Ballyroan
Clodagh Dunne – Ballyroan
Anna Healy – Park Ratheniska
Fiona Kelly – Park – Ratheniska
Erone Fitzpatrick – Park Ratheniska
Emma Lawlor – St. Paul’s
Sinead O’Rourke – St. Paul’s
Shannon Costelloe – St. Paul’s
Emma Finlay – Shanahoe
Laura Finlay – Shanahoe
Sinead Cullen – St. Conleths
Aine Haberlain – St. Conleths
Aimee Kelly – St. Conleths
Nicole Havill –St. Conleths
Alannah Havill – St. Conleths
Mary Cotter – St. Conleths
Eva Galvin – St. Conleths
Shauna Quirke – St. Conleths
Mo Nerney – Timahoe
Maureen Young – Timahoe
Alice Dunne – Timahoe

Division 2 League fixtures

Sunday February 3
Laois (H) v Armagh

Sunday February 10
Tyrone v Laois (A)

Sunday February 24
Laois (H) v Kerry

Sunday March 3
Clare v Laois (A)

Sunday March 17
Laois (H) v Wexford

Sunday March 24
Waterford v Laois (A)

Saturday 6/Sunday 7 April 
Cavan v Laois (A)

SEE ALSO – Laois town being considered for new Aldi store and jobs