Home Sport Other Sport Laois’s Sliabh Liag gains nomination for the National Greyhound Racing Awards

Laois’s Sliabh Liag gains nomination for the National Greyhound Racing Awards

A Laois dog has made the list of nominations for the 2018 National Greyhound Racing Awards.

Sliabh Liag, who is trained by Timahoe native Karol Ramsbottom, has been shortlisted following a string of fine performances.

The greyhound is nominated for the ‘Future Star’ award and experienced considerable success this year, winning an A6 stake in Kilkenny before finishing runner-up in the Juvenile Derby in Shelbourne Park and third in the Comerford Cakes National Puppy Stake.

Also nominated for the award are Killer Bee, winner of the Comerford Cakes Stake, and Ballymac Anton, who was also a finalist in the Juvenile Derby.

2018 Irish Greyhound Derby winner Ballyanne Sim is nominated for ‘Dog of the Year’, along with the Patrick Guilfoyle-trained Cabra Hurricane, winner of the Night of Stars 525 race, and Slippy Cian, trained by Graham Holland and owned by Limerick’s Full House Syndicate.

The ‘Special Merit’ award will be jointly presented to Bob Shanahan and Tim Keane, regular attendees at Limerick Greyhound Stadium.

Bob has been a director of the stadium and a member of the local Advisory Council, as well as part of a number of syndicates, while Tim, also a member of the Advisory Council, is a former chairman of the Irish Greyhound Owners and Breeders Federation and has owned greyhounds for nearly 50 years.

The ‘Hall of Fame’ award will be presented to Waterford’s Gerry Kiely.

The IGB ‘Welfare Award’ will be presented to Bridget Murphy (Ovens, Co. Cork), Patricia Tobin (Kilfeacle, Co. Tipperary) and Robert & Leslie Pullen (Loughrea, Co. Galway).

Gerard Dollard, CEO of the Irish Greyhound Board, commented: “The National Greyhound Racing Awards are a fitting way to showcase the very best that our sport has to offer, in both canine and human form.

“I wish to congratulate all nominees for their achievements. The high standard of quality across all categories is evidence of the commitment and passion that exists within the Irish greyhound sector.”

The winners of the awards will be revealed at a special ceremony in the Killashee House Hotel in Naas, Co. Kildare, on Sunday, March 24.

Tickets are €40 per person for adults and €15 per person for children and are now on sale on www.igb.ie

SEE ALSO – Carlow football coach launches stunning attack on Laois pundit