Home Sport GAA Ballylinan get the better of Emo – and all of Friday night’s...

Ballylinan get the better of Emo – and all of Friday night’s Laois GAA results

Gary Walsh Picture: Paul Dargan

Ballylinan 1-17 Emo 2-9
Laois Shopping Centre ACFL Division 1B

Ballylinan moved top of Division 1B thanks to an impressive win away to Emo this evening.

Goals from Jack Owens and Finbarr Crowley had helped the home side to a 2-4 to 0-6 lead at the break but Ballylinan took control in the second half and a goal from Cathal Dunne as well as a string of points from Gary Walsh, who finished with 0-8, was key to them picking up their third straight win in this campaign.

Alan Farrell, who missed all of Laois’s league campaign, scored two points from wing-back for Ballylinan while his brother Jamie scored three points from midfield. Paul Lawlor hit four points for Emo.

Ballylinan now play Courtwood in their re-fixed Round 2 game this coming Good Friday.

Emo aren’t in action again until April 25 when they take on St Joseph’s second team.

Elsewhere in Division 1B this evening, Mountmellick were 1-13 to 0-10 winners over St Joseph’s.

SCORERS – Ballylinan: Gary Walsh 0-8, Cathal Dunne 1-0, Jamie Farrell 0-3, Alan Farrell and Andy McEvoy 0-2 each, Kevin Byrne and Ciaran Farrell 0-1 each. Emo: Jack Owens 1-2, Paul Lawlor 0-4, Finbarr Crowley 1-1, Chris Gleeson 0-1, Darren Strong 0-1

BALLYLINAN: Tom Wright; Oisin Leonard, Kevin Byrne, James Redmond; Alan Farrell, Richie Ryan, Cathal Fennessy; John Kealy, Jamie Farrell; Larry Kealy, Ciaran Farrell, Seamus Lacey; Andy McEvoy, Cathal Dunne, Gary Walsh. Subs: Padraig McEvoy, Conor Behan, Ciaran Fennessy, Liam Kealy

EMO: Niall Gorman; Paddy Dunne, James O’Rourke; Tom Scully; Nigel Murphy, Brian Gorman, Eibhin Joyce; Darren Strong, James Hilliard; Stephen Norton, Jack Owens, Chris Gleeson; Finbarr Crowley, Paul Lawlor, Rorie Meredith

Clonaslee-St Manman’s 3-9 Crettyard 2-10
Laois Shopping Centre ACFL Division 2

Clonaslee made their long trip to Crettyard worthwhile as they recorded a two-point win in a high-scoring affair.

First-half goals from Glen McEvoy and Robert Downey helped Clonaslee to a 2-6 to 0-4 lead at the break and though Crettyard fought back well with Evan O’Carroll gettingtwo second-half goals, Clonaslee did just about enough with John Rigney’s goal crucial.

Elsewhere in Division 2, the second-string sides of O’Dempsey’s, Portlaoise and Portarlington continued their unbeaten start with wins over The Heath, Annanough and Barrowhouse respectively.

Timahoe saw off the challenge of Rosenallis while Graiguecullen gave Park-Ratheniska a walkover. It’s the second time in this league that Graigue have conceded the points, meaning they are now likely to be removed from the competition.

There was also a busy schedule of underage games this evening and we have all the results below.

CLONASLEE: Barry Kelly; Oisin Murray, Jack Owens, Mark McEvoy; John Rigney, Willie Murray, Diarmuid Conroy; Sean Condon, Ger Reilly; Niall Corbet, Glen McEvoy, William Murray; Cian Barrett, Niall Hogan, Robert Downey

CRETTYARD: Matthew Kelly; Killian O’Shea, Jason Dunne, Conor Mulhall; James Kelly, Pa Brennan, Michael Jordan; Pa O’Reilly, Sean O’Reilly; Conor Barry, Evan O’Carroll, Michael Nash; Philip Brennan, Mark Lyons, Aran Murphy


Laois Shopping Centre ACFL Division 1B Round 4
Mountmellick 1-13 St Joseph’s 0-10
Emo 2-9 Ballylinan 1-17

Laois Shopping Centre ACFL Division 2 Round 3
Graiguecullen V Park Ratheniska – conceded by Graiguecullen
Clonaslee St Manmans 3-9 Crettyard 2-10
O’Dempseys 0-15 The Heath 0-13
Portarlington 0-17 Barrowhouse 0-6
Timahoe 1-11 Rosenallis 0-8
Annanough 0-10 Portlaoise 3-10

Laois Shopping Centre ACFL Division 5 Group A Round 1
Ballyfin 4-12 Borris In Ossory 0-8

Laois Shopping Centre ACFL Division 5 Group B Round 1
Trumera V Colt/St Fintan’s – conceded by Trumera

Midlands Park Hotel U-17 ‘B’ Football League Group B Round 1
Portlaoise B 5-3 Rosenallis 4-5

Feile Peil na nOg A Group A Round 1
Ballylinan 3-6 St Joseph’s 2-4
St Paul’s 4-5 Portlaoise 4-5

Feile Peil na nOg A Group B Round 1
Killeshin 2-4 Stradbally Parish Gaels 2-4

Feile Peil na nOg B Group A Round 2
O’Dempsey’s 3-3 Na Fianna Og 3-2

Feile Peil na nOg B Group C Round 2
Graiguecullen 1-1 Camross 2-6

Feile Peil na nOg B Group D Round 2
Spink Park Ratheniska 1-1 Ballyroan Abbey 4-12

SEE ALSO – Project Manager sought for Laois Creative Ireland programme

Previous articleIn Pictures: A ‘Pantastic’ display at the Portarlington Presentation school musical
Next articleDeaths in Laois – Saturday, April 13, 2019
Steven Miller is owner and managing editor of LaoisToday.ie. From Laois, Steven studied Journalism in DCU and has 14 years experience in the media, almost 10 of those in an editorial role. Husband of Emily, father of William and Lillian, he's happiest when he's telling stories or kicking a point.