Home GAA Camogie Glory for The Harps as they claim Laois Camogie Feile crown

Glory for The Harps as they claim Laois Camogie Feile crown

The Harps Feile Camogie team

The Harps 0-5 O’Moores 0-0
Feile Camogie Division 1 Final

This clash of the titans could not have been more anticipated as the last year’s two Feile winners took to the field in Mountrath today.

Nothing could separate these two during the group stage, where they drew with The Harps earning 1-7 to O’Moores’ 3-1.

It was a much lower-scoring game today, with sharpshooter Lisa Kirby slotting over four points from placed balls, while captain Katie Healy added one to last year’s U14 county champions’ tally.

Kirby’s first free came after eight minutes, with much of the ball being played in the O’Moores half-back line during that time.

The Harps had a goal disallowed after a push on the full-forward line but soon secured a second point through the stick of Kirby again.

The low-scoring half ended with plenty of pressure on the O’Moores backs, with Kirby’s two frees being the stand-alone scores in the 15 minutes.

Scores were rare to come by in the second half, but captain Healy led by example as she battled through the O’Moores defence.

Her hard work paid off – as a Kirby free fell to her and she sailed the sliotar over the crossbar to make it three points to none.

The next two scores came courtesy of a Kirby free and 65’. Aoife Kirby and Aimée Lennon were unlucky to not see their efforts go over the post while Lucy Conroy for O’Moores made great efforts only to be halted by a relentless defence by The Harps.

Aimee Cuddy stood strong in goals for O’Moores – last year’s Feile experience showing on the young O’Moores girl.

The Harps finished worthy winners in Mountrath this afternoon and now head to Kilbrittain, Cork, for the All-Ireland Feile this summer.

O’Moores Camogie Team

SCORERS – The Harps: Lisa Kirby 0-4 (0-3 frees, 0-1 65’s) Katie Healy 0-1

THE HARPS: Mia Henderson; Orla Holland, Caoimhe Doheny, Orla Brophy; Eva Dunphy, Kayla Dwyer, Abbie Gibbons; Katie Healy, Lisa Kirby; Georgie Holland Rome, Amy Lacey, Catherine Kirby; Emma Delahunty, Rachael Dollard, Aoife Gee. Subs: Eadaoin Whyte, Aoife Kirby, Aimée Lennon, Olivia Hovenden, Abby McEvoy

O’MOORES: Aimee Cuddy; Kim Fitzpatrick, Ciara Conroy, Meaghan Fitzpatrick; Amy Conroy, Aisling McEvoy, Alison Hyland; Lucy Conroy, Treasa Dowling; Deirbhile C Fennell, Grace McEvoy, Robyn Dempsey; Sophie Redmond, Emer Dunne, Emer Kelly. Subs: Julieann Bennett, Emma Corcoran, Esmee Cummings, Annie Dunne, Caoimhe Egan, Ellie Flanagan, Niamh Heffernan, Sarah Hickey, Aoife Mahon, Alison Morgan, Eve Murphy

SEE ALSO – My Club and I: Jo Prior (The Harps camogie club)