Home Sport Soccer Three Laois clubs represented as Midlands League name Kennedy and Gaynor Cup...

Three Laois clubs represented as Midlands League name Kennedy and Gaynor Cup squads

The Midlands Schoolboys and Schoolgirls soccer league has announced its three squads that will compete at the national competitions this summer.

Two Midlands squads will compete in the Gaynor Cup, the girls competition, at U-13 and U-15 level in Limerick.

While the boys will also be in action in the Kennedy Cup which is an U-14 competition.

Emo Celtic, T&S United and Portlaoise AFC are the three Laois clubs that have players on the respective squads.

The Midlands Kennedy Cup team contains three Emo Celtic players and is also managed by an adopted Laois man.

Originally from Dublin, manager Anthony Hitchcock is well known in Laois having managed various teams in Portlaoise AFC and also the Park-Ratheniska football team.

The Midlands have been drawn in Group 4 as top seeds alongside Dundalk, Mayo and North Eastern Counties Schoolboys League.

Meanwhile, Portlaoise AFC have one player on the U-13 Gaynor Cup squad whille T&S United have one on the U-15 team.

This is a piece of history for Timahoe based T&S United as Eimear Devoy will become the first ever player from the club to play at the Gaynor Cup.

Eimear’s achievement is made even more remarkable given the fact that she will be eligible to play at U-15 level again next year.

The U-13s are in Group 1 as second seeds alongside MGL South, Limerick County and Waterford.

Meanwhile, the U-15s will take part in the Trophy alongside Mid Western, Kildare, Limerick County, Clare and Kerry.

The SFAI New Balance Kennedy Cup 2019 will take place in University of Limerick from Tuesday June 11 to Saturday June 15.

Both Gaynor Cup competitions will also take place in University of Limerick. The U-13 team will take to the pitches on the weekend of June 1, 2 and 3, while the U-15s will play from June 27 to June 30.

Check out the three squads below:


Midlands Kennedy Cup Squad 2019

Charlie Raper – Birr Town
Eoghan Slattery – Emo Celtic
Ryan Mnguni – Mullingar Athletic
Evan Brickland – Killeigh FC
Eric McLoughlin – Mullingar Athletic
Mathew Ryan – Mullingar Athletic
David Costello – Emo Celtic
Ryan Little – Emo Celtic
Keelyn Conroy – Tullamore Town
Cian Malone – Killeigh FC
Scott Clynes – Kinnegad Juniors
Aaron Dalzell – Frankford Utd
Kevin Sweeney – Killeigh FC
Jack Daly – Tullamore Town
Daniel McCann – Mullingar Athletic
Harry Mannering – Mullingar Athletic
Ricky Fitzsimons – Tullamore Town
Jake Gannon – Kilbeggan Utd
Hubert Zakrzewski – Tullamore Town
Conor Devane – Tullamore Town

Ryan Little, David Costello and Eoghan Slattery

GROUP 4 – Midlands, Dundalk, Mayo, NECSL


Midlands U-13 Gaynor Cup

Shauna Egan – Bealnamulla
Aoife Murphy O’Connor – Tullamore
Rachel Rourke – Hodson Bay
Ellen Dolan – Mucklagh
Kacie Mulvihill – Bealnamulla
Meekah Beaumount – Bealnamulla
Ciara Walsh – Hodson Bay
Mary Phillips – Portlaoise
Isabel Ryan – Tullamore
Nicole Merriman – Tullamore
Millie Daly – Killeigh
Ciara Murphy – Bealnamulla
Holly Burns – Tullamore
Tara O’Sullivan – Bealnamulla
Clodagh Power – Tullamore
Chelsea Conroy – Athlone
Niamh Keyes – Tullamore
Lily Grehan – Kilbeggan
Orla Dillon – Tullamore
Lauren Shannon – Hodson Bay

GROUP 1 – MGL South, Midlands, Limerick County, Waterford


Midlands Gaynor Cup U-15 squad

Hannah Martin – Bealnamulla
Aoife McGoldrick – Athlone Town
Orlaith Craven – Athlone Town
Chloe Shanahan – Bealnamulla
Eimear Devoy – T&S United
Niamh Raeside – Mullingar Athletic
Antea Guvo – Mullingar Athletic
Abbie Murray – Athlone Town
Cayla Fletcher – Athlone Town
Olivia Kilackey – Killeigh
Caireann McGoldrick – Athlone Town
Hope Glynn – Athlone Town
Heather O’Sullivan – Athlone Town
Leah Hallissy – Bealnamulla
Ava Hallissy – Bealnamulla
Orla Kildea – Athlone Town
Melissa O’Kane – Athlone Town
Aisling Hanley – Athlone Town
Amanda Ryan – Athlone Town

TROPHY – Mid Western, Kildare, Limerick County, Clare and Kerry.

SEE ALSO – WATCH: Match highlights as Laois claim All-Ireland Minor Camogie title